Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Glen Allen, VA
Students enrolled: 688

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rivers Edge Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Principal and teachers are wonderful. Facilities are top notch. They work well with boys and girls. There was a minor problem with one teacher and administration was very responsive in correcting the problem. My son is in 2nd grade and I look forward to my daughter starting next year.

Rivers Edge Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with Rivers Edge Elementary. The teachers are wonderful - caring and focused. The principal, Johnna Riley, is one of the best. The PTA is very involved and provides numerous well-planned activities throughout the year. Our daughter is excited to go to school each morning and is excelling in her studies. Thanks Rivers Edge!


Rivers Edge Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
We are new to the school and could not be happier. My two children have adjusted very nicely and the teachers are wonderful. The parental involvement has been great as well.

Rivers Edge Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
This school is fabulous! The teacher are not only nurturing and caring, they make learning fun! The teachers are mindful to adapt the learning experience for the individual child. All three of my children have excelled at this school and adore the 'family' environment it fosters. The staff stays completely involved and offers additional programs for parents and students. The PE, Art, Music, etc. teachers are the best and our kids love the extra enrichment they receive in those classes. I love going to the school not only to see my children but because I feel so welcome. The parental and community involvement is fantastic.

Rivers Edge Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Rivers Edge Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
We could not be happier in regards to our children's educational environment. The school got a new principal before the last school year, and the standards have remained as high as ever. The teachers have been very nurturing and caring, going above and beyond expectations. They have real interest in how the children develop. Our children were consistently challenged by their teachers. We got the feeling that the speed of learning was dictated by the child's ability, not strictly by standardized tests. The parental involvement is outstanding, proving that education is important to the entire community. Children can test into a gifted and talented program and the PTA coordinates an excellent after school enrichment program available to all the students.

Rivers Edge Elementary School 3

Posted March 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rivers Edge Elementary School 4

Posted April 25, 2006
- a parent
This is a nice neighborhood school. The principal is retiring at the end of this year, so much could change. There are pull-out programs for gifted kids starting in Kindergarten. There are separate classes for gifted kids in 4th and 5th grades. The Resource teachers are all wonderful. There is a strong PTA program. Many after school programs are offered at various times throughout the year, including Mad Science and cooking classes. Many kids walk to school, a few ride their bikes, many are bused and some are driven by parents. There is a very strong Destination Imagination Program that has done very well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rivers Edge Elementary School
11600 Holman Ridge Rd., Glen Allen, VA  23059
(804) 935-6760
Last modified Rivers Edge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rivers Edge Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top