Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shady Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 670 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I would give more than 5 stars, Excellent school. If you are thinking about moving to the area, one thing you dont have worry about is your childs education. The teachers are great and keep you updated with a great principal as their leader. I will be moving out of the area and will miss this school a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

I actually miss my elementary school years a great deal; Shady Grove was probably the best elementary school experience I could have had. I remember a lot, surprisingly, but something that has always stood out in my mind is how much my teachers cared about us. Although it was a public school, I still remember having a relationship with all my teachers, and getting one on one attention a lot. Mostly, the SGES kids that I know now turned out well, and it was also academically competitive and challenging. Great school, but avoid Short Pump Middle after SGES.


Posted February 10, 2011

I have a son with a developmental delay - requiring special assistance and the teachers, exceptional ed program and administrators have been amazing. There is an old post here from a family with a child with autism. There is now an Autism Classroom right in Shady Grove. Also - there is an older post about the concerns for class size (24-1)....Henrico County has since opened a new Elementary School nearby so that has been alleviated. Another close by Elem. School is in the works for 2014!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

We transfered in when my oldest was in her last year of Elementary school and my son was a first grader. We found Shady Grove to be a top notch school. My children were quickly welcomed. The teachers are excellent and provide many enrichment opportunities. I would also like to note that I believe the school counselors are also superb. They are wonderful resources and provide valuable 'lessons' to the students in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

This school is wonderful!! We transferred here from out-of-state, and felt immediately welcomed at SGES. There is an awesome new student mentoring in which current students help new students become acclamated. Great opportunity for parental involvement, too. LA - new SGES parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I have two children at SG. We transfered here from out of town. The community is wonderful and my husband and I believe it takes a village of high standards and discipline to raise a family. The academic standards at SG are tough, but with the US failing across the board on an international level, we welcomed the standards and the discipline. There is plenty of art, PE, music, not to mention after school playtime and after school enrichment. SG encourages various learning styles and programs like Destination Imagination are available for children who need to put addition energy into creative, imaginative thinking. The school leaves no child behind academically and the teachers are strict but loving. It is too bad all US children don't have the opportunity to live in such a great community with access to a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

This school is awesome! It teaches you so much. And they have the best teachers you will ever meet.


Posted May 18, 2007

We have a daughter finishing Kindergarten at Shady Grove Elementary and we have been thoroughly impressed by the professionalism of the teaching staff and the love for learning they have provided my daughter. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

Academics is the main focus for SGES without a doubt. However, I agree with the other review that stated in their effort to keep the high academics they lose the personal touch with the kids. Teacher/Student ratio is terrible at the school, there are way too many students in the classes. My sons 2nd grade class is 24:1, that's a lot higher than any school I have reviewed in the Henrico area. I'm glad to see that they can keep the academics up with such a ratio but my son does not live in the town of 'Stepford' (from the movie). One mold does not fit every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

I had a child at Shady Grove that was on the autism spectrum. The staff were at ground zero on how to work with him. The tragic downfall at Shady Grove is not their ability to teach typical children, it's their inability to include special needs children into their school. There are no kids in wheelchairs, or programs for autism in Shady Grove. If you have a child that requires more than extra assistance in reading or math, then he or she will be sent to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

Great school. Good parental involvement. Tachers take good interest in children education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

With Shady Grove around, there is no need for a private school. The administration and teachers are phenomenal and parent involvement is tremendous. I have three children there - all of which are doing great and love it. We have a great music and art program, extra recess time after lunch, and after school activities. Shady Grove consistently ranks tops in terms of testing. You can't find a better school for your kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

My child attended Shady Grove for 2 years before we decided to transfer to a smaller, private school. In our experience Shady Grove has excellent academic standards, however the environment is staid and very regimented. The complaint of many parents is that the school doesn't allow kids to be kids. In striving to maintain its top status on SOL testing, the school seems to strive to force all children to conform to one mold - that of the perfect, obedient elementary school student - and fails to treat children as individuals with a variety of learning styles and needs. Although I rate the school high in all of the categories listed here, if creativity, emotional support and self esteem building were categories, Shady Grove would get the lowest possible score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

I have two children at Shady Grove now and they both have found great teachers who motivate and educate creatively. Our principal is so supportive on all fronts: child, teacher, and parent. It is a true team approach to the well being of children. Our school has a very active PTA that provides many enriching programs, both during and aftershcool. Our school is situated in our close-knit community which adds to the atmosphere that our children are here to learn and learning is an integral part of this community. Our art and music teachers are energetic and creative. The building itself is very condusive to learning allowing grades the chance to team teach which allows children to work at their particular skill level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

Excellent school. I've had two children attend, one is still there. Everyone from the principal on down takes an interest in the children. Great PTA also. Highly ranked within the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities92%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%

Math

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students96%
Female students93%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students98%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

Math

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Science

All Students98%
Female students98%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12200 Wyndham Lake Dr
Glen Allen, VA 23059
Phone: (804) 360-0825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT