Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
I would give more than 5 stars, Excellent school. If you are thinking about moving to the area, one thing you dont have worry about is your childs education. The teachers are great and keep you updated with a great principal as their leader. I will be moving out of the area and will miss this school a lot.

Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2013
- a community member
I actually miss my elementary school years a great deal; Shady Grove was probably the best elementary school experience I could have had. I remember a lot, surprisingly, but something that has always stood out in my mind is how much my teachers cared about us. Although it was a public school, I still remember having a relationship with all my teachers, and getting one on one attention a lot. Mostly, the SGES kids that I know now turned out well, and it was also academically competitive and challenging. Great school, but avoid Short Pump Middle after SGES.


Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
I have a son with a developmental delay - requiring special assistance and the teachers, exceptional ed program and administrators have been amazing. There is an old post here from a family with a child with autism. There is now an Autism Classroom right in Shady Grove. Also - there is an older post about the concerns for class size (24-1)....Henrico County has since opened a new Elementary School nearby so that has been alleviated. Another close by Elem. School is in the works for 2014!

Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
We transfered in when my oldest was in her last year of Elementary school and my son was a first grader. We found Shady Grove to be a top notch school. My children were quickly welcomed. The teachers are excellent and provide many enrichment opportunities. I would also like to note that I believe the school counselors are also superb. They are wonderful resources and provide valuable 'lessons' to the students in the classroom.

Shady Grove Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This school is wonderful!! We transferred here from out-of-state, and felt immediately welcomed at SGES. There is an awesome new student mentoring in which current students help new students become acclamated. Great opportunity for parental involvement, too. LA - new SGES parent


Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
I have two children at SG. We transfered here from out of town. The community is wonderful and my husband and I believe it takes a village of high standards and discipline to raise a family. The academic standards at SG are tough, but with the US failing across the board on an international level, we welcomed the standards and the discipline. There is plenty of art, PE, music, not to mention after school playtime and after school enrichment. SG encourages various learning styles and programs like Destination Imagination are available for children who need to put addition energy into creative, imaginative thinking. The school leaves no child behind academically and the teachers are strict but loving. It is too bad all US children don't have the opportunity to live in such a great community with access to a great school.

Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a community member
This school is awesome! It teaches you so much. And they have the best teachers you will ever meet.


Shady Grove Elementary School 3

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shady Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
We have a daughter finishing Kindergarten at Shady Grove Elementary and we have been thoroughly impressed by the professionalism of the teaching staff and the love for learning they have provided my daughter. Thank you!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shady Grove Elementary School
12200 Wyndham Lake Dr, Glen Allen, VA  23059
(804) 360-0825
Last modified Shady Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shady Grove Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top