Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grafton Bethel Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 640 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2013

Teachers who have been at this school for a long time make it a great learning environment through their dedication and genuine caring for their students. However, beyond the classroom, many of the children are very cliquey and there is downright bullying although there are signs everywhere against bullying. The administration turns a blind eye as do the parents whose children cause the trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

This is a great school for elementary kids. The student body and teachers on a whole seem happy and engaged, and there is an active parent/caregiver presence. The admin staff, especially the principal, is very good. They seem to value childhood as well as childhood learning. Your child will learn without the specter of over-involvement at an early age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2010

Wonderful school. Can't say enough about the teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This is a great school. Very involved PTA. Super teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

This school offers friendly & safe environment for my kids. Teachers & staff are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

This school ROCKS! The school works as a 'team', with everyone on board to make sure each and every child gets what they need. Teachers and staff are very helpful and any concerns are addressed right away. There are lot's of volunteer jobs, the staff and teachers are happy to have the help! My children attended GBE for 4 great years .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

My son attended this school from K-3rd. I absolutely love this school and regret having to move him to another York County school. We switched schools when we moved out of the zoning area for GBES. At GBES, the teachers have all been wonderful. The principal is very involved with the students, the staff is very friendly and helpful. It felt like family there. I miss the school very much. PTA was a bit clickish as someone else said, but that probably happens everywhere. I love the after school programs they had for the kids, the way that the teachers are on top of any issue your children may have and communication is great. I would get a weekly email from his teachers telling us what to expect for the week. I'd also get personal notes from the teachers on things my son had done well or if there were concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

I, too, am very surprised by the desire not to have more involved parents in the classroom. However, the staff more than makes up for it. Helen Stephenson, Admin, was very gracious and hospitable to my family even before we entered the school. I attended this school when I was in grade school and have found their strenghts and weaknesses are the same. The PTA, however, Dana specifically, couldnt be more welcoming. I am excited to be working with this group of women and the school. I look forward to a great 08 year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

I LOVE this school. My daughter has been going to this school going on 5 years. The teachers are wonderful and they make learning fun! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

We moved from England and the school has been wonderfully supportive. The teachers have always welcomed us into the classroom for visits and to help. Mr Miller and Mrs Bauer deserve awards for their wonderful teaching and obvious love of the job. My youngest son is going into special ed at the school in September and I am confident that he will be as happy as his siblings so obviously are. 10 out of 10 Grafton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I have 3 children at this school and was shocked to learn parents are not welcome in the classroom at this school. Bullying seems to be an issue. VP very unfriendly. Principal lacks leadership. Very involved PTA but very clickish. Music art and PE are terrible at this school my kids dislike these programs. Some teachers are awesome! Handful are terrible! Had I known about the parental involvement I would have looked elsewhere in the county for our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

I have two children that attend this school. One is in kindergarten and the other is in the 5th grade. I cannot tell you how pleased I have been with this school. Both of my children are excited about going to school and they wouldn't miss a day if you paid them! They are getting a good quality education from teachers who actually care about them. I have had great feedback from all of my children's teachers and truly feel that they are every bit as concerned about thier education as I am. This is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

My daughter LOVES this school. She looks forward to going every day and the teacher challenges her in areas she is excelling above the other students in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students84%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students81%
Female students88%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students91%
Female students86%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students85%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students79%
Female students77%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students85%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students89%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students85%
Female students85%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students85%
Female students83%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 Lakeside Dr
Grafton, VA 23692
Phone: (757) 898-0350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Living Word Academy
Yorktown, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT