Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Great Falls, VA
Students enrolled: 100
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Siena Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
Siena Academy is devoted to providing authentic Montessori education as "discovered" and developed by Maria Montessori. We sold our home in another city and moved nearby to give our children the benefit of this education. It has changed all of our lives.

Siena Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a community member
Siena Academy is renowned as one of the best Catholic Montessori Schools in the country. Its combination of the authentic teaching of the faith through the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd, combined with the academic materials designed by Dr. Montessori in the main classroom, make it a stellar environment for children to learn and develop. I highly recommend this school.


Siena Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
We are thrilled to have this incredible option for our childrens' education. True authentic Montessori teaching at its finest!

Siena Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
With the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd at the heart of this school, this AMI accredited Catholic Montessori parochial school is like the hidden treasure found in a field. Wonderful, committed and experienced Montessori teachers in both the primary and elementary environments. The community of families are very supportive and committed to raising their children in a Montessori way and the school is like a second family to our children, who love to go to school everyday! We have had three children graduate from Siena Academy who continue to have a love of learning, a love of Christ and have excelled academically in their middle schools and high schools. We are so thankful to have found this school!

Siena Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
We are so blessed To have found this school for our children. The teachers and staff are exceptional. The family community is unlike any other.


Siena Academy 4

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
By far the most authentic Montessori school (owing to the skill, experience, and spiritual preparation of the teachers) I've seen in northern Virginia. Parents looking for education as an aid to life should look no further. The drawbacks are its size and the fact that it doesn't have an Erdkinder. It also could benefit from the presence of a male guide, but most Children's Houses are in that same situation.

Siena Academy 2

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
Post dated February 27, 2013 is very true. The strengh and spirit of the school is the spiritual formation of the child which is taught to the students through the Atruim with the Catechist of the Good Sherphard. Upper level classes go to daily Mass. The teachers are all very loving, patient, and honest. The enviroment is safe for children. The school has a great vision but is still growing and learinig how to manifest their vision.

Siena Academy 1

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
Pros: Truly committed to Montessori teaching. Seminars on Montessori principles for parents. Beautiful and large classrooms. Inexpensive (half the price of nearby Montessori schools). Mondays through Fridays. Cons: If you have a perfect child, by all means, send your kid to Sienna. Perfect, I mean, your child is quiet, independent, walk (rather than run), and able to concentrate for a long periods of time. Otherwise, the school will email you out of the blue asking for a conference. The school then will proceed to tell you that your child needs to integrate her mind, body, and spirit, and therefore, she s expelled until she completes 4-6 months of therapy. I took my child to one of the TWO therapists that the school recommended. After $575, 4-hour evaluation session, and a day off from work, my child got a clean bill of mental and physical health. No follow up from Sienna Academy teachers. They did not want to commit to a child who required a little bit more work.


Siena Academy 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a community member
Wonderful! See incredible teaching and a beautiful way to learn the Catholic Faith in the Catechesis. I loved observing here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Siena Academy
1020 Springvale Road, Great Falls, VA  22066
(703) 759-4129
Last modified Siena Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Siena Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top