Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Great Falls Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 572 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I attended this school from 1st to 6th grade, I am now in 8th grade, and I can say that this school was one of the most difficult schools I have ever seen where the teachers are unnecessarily hard on the students and treat some students like trash, me being one of them. I was asking a question while my English teacher was reading us a story and she told me to put my hand down and stop asking questions, she told me it was clear that I didn't understand the book and that the book was higher level readers only, and told me to leave the classroom, I cried the rest of the day. The teachers Favorited some students and gave them passing A's when I put in much more work then they did and all I got were C's. This school is the epitome of unfair treatment! The teachers treated us like we couldn't learn anything. When I passed all of my SOLs I couldn't even be happy because my teachers were to busy harassing me. Overall This school was trash, DO NOT SENT YOUR KIDS THERE!


Posted February 27, 2014

GFES has a young Principal who is going on his second year at the school and has not yet found his stride. I believe he wants to produce a school with good test scores but isn't sure how to go about doing it. This is due to inexperience. He is easily swayed by any parent who is giving him positive attention. The PTA coffers are low due to low morale in the parent body. One of the Principal's ideas, which the PTA has agreed to, is to put money towards an online math tutoring program that the students can do at home. Hello, we can do online math programs for free. No one needs to put $7,000 dollars towards a low end online math service. Many parents don't even know that this is where their money was spent. The teachers at GFES are like anywhere else in the county. Some are great and some are average. What usually sets the school apart is the parent involvement both in time and money given to the school. Both have come to a quick halt due to the poor administration. Let's hope that this Principal quickly grows up or moves on. He is holding the school back from being more successful. I have had children at the school for over 10 years and this is my 3rd Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

We moved to this neighborhood for the benefits of foreign language immersion classes, but GFES leaves much to be desired. The teacher is far more concerned about student performance on SOL tests and instructs mostly in English so that the material would be 'understandable.' Anyone who knows the principle behind 'immersion' learning (I was a teacher myself) knows this makes mockery of the approach. The new principal is responsive, but seems unable to make the teacher change her classroom style, despite numerous parent requests like mine that greater attention be paid to language immersion -- for example, using class materials in the target language, or learning Kanji. With time we have learned that most of the Japanese parents have gotten the word and send their children to Fox Mill, which enjoys strong support from the principal and parents for extra-curricular cultural events. As schools go, GFES is not bad but the 'language immersion' element, in fine American style, is highly over-sold and short on real content. We get far more value out of Kumon, Oen Network, Saturday school and other learning opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

So far, this year, ( we are new to this school) I'm already pleased with how accessible and accommodating the principal was to our concerns that our normal learning abilities child was placed in an inclusive classroom with a lot of learning disabled children. He explained thoroughly that there would still be the same general education curriculum for all the regular kids just with a lot more teachers available in the room. Dispelling my concerns the curriculum would be watered down so all the kids could digest. However, he said that if I was still concerned he had made arrangements that my son could be switched to the normal classroom as well. All this before school on the first day, a very busy day I know! So thank you Mr. Lonnett for your time and effort!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

In our Paents experience, this is the only elementary school where we have been plainly told by a 5th grade English Teacher who is still in Great Falls ES, that she and her collegue would like to practice their profession and teach our child, but "that their hands are tied by the principal".!!!!! The Principal, rather than providing education to all children, does indeed involve daily in an education deprivation self decided policy against some children, to get even with parents who complain about him and his known negative micromanagement of teachers activities to FCPS Board. He is harming this way some selected students education, and spends the majority of his administrative time retaliating against innocent children despite all their rights to education, and despite their parents complaints to all authorities: the Board of FCPS, the Virginia Department of Education, the Office of Civil Rights, and the Fairfax County Child Protective Services for child neglects such as repetitively involving in cutting also attendents in school buses, exposing this way some students in need to physical harm during school bus transportation!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

The school does not have the will to fulfill its complete role as base school for its special education students, and it routinely does not respect IEPs the school itself have signed. Also, It does not prepare adequately its neighbourhood residents for middle school as other FCPS elementary schools do and it discriminates openly against students with even mild disabiities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Wonderful school, great new facility. My son's teachers are warm, caring and really focus on each child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

We have been very pleased with the educational quality at Great Falls Elementary. The principal is very responsive to parent input and is highly involved with the students. The teachers are experienced and challenge the students. If there is a problem with a teacher, the principal is willing to listen and help rectify the situation. My children have participated in both the Gifted Talented and the Japanese Immersion Programs (JIP). The well-established JIP program is fantastic and the children have a good grasp of basic language and 2 of the Japanese character sets by the end of second grade. The GT program, started 3 years ago, is still evolving but the current staff of GT teachers are dedicated to creating a great program. My only complaint is sometimes class sizes run high (close to 30 students, with one class of 34) but this is a county funding problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students95%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students81%
Female students85%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students99%
Female students100%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students96%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students90%
Female students86%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students93%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students98%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students88%
Female students93%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students94%
Female students98%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students99%
Female students98%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities93%
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Math

All Students97%
Female students95%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities90%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Walker Rd
Great Falls, VA 22066
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 757-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Siena Academy
Great Falls, VA






Ambleside School
Herndon, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT