Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-7
Private
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 367

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
Great school, completely agree with the comments on here, my oldest daughter attended public school in Hampton and the one on one attention my youngest has received is something I truly wish I had offered my oldest. Hampton has some great public schools but Gloria Dei is truly in a league of its own.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted December 31, 2010
- a parent
Gloria Dei has caring teachers and staff, my daughter has been going to GD for 5 years now and is excelling in all areas.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
We love Gloria Dei!! We are military and have to transfer but we wouldn't mind staying because of this school. We will miss Gloria Dei and appreciate the patience they have had with our child and the peace of mind they provided us when we left our little one in their care. The hours are great and the price is very reasonable. I recommend Gloria Dei to everyone with a school age child. :)

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
I believe that Gloria Dei is by far the BEST school on the Peninsula, whether public or private. I can not imagine sending my children anywhere else. Children drive from as far out as Smithfield, Virginia Beach and Williamsburg to attend this school and it is for great reason. They do an amazing job. The only problem with the school is that after attending Gloria Dei the children are TOO prepared for any public school! :) The school develops over achieving well mannered children via love and a wonderful encouraging enviornment.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 4

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
The staff and teachers are genuinely dedicated to providing a great learning environment. The school is extremely organized. The children get to attend great 'specials' (p.e., music, chef class, etc) that are well thought out and very enjoyable. My child is in pre-k (4 yrs) and the only complaint I have is that they don't seem to let the kids write their name much on their own and encourage them to improve on this. I was looking for more of that, but that is the only 'complaint' I really have. We're military and there are plenty of military kids here and most of them seem quite pleased, as well.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted July 13, 2008
- a parent
We are a military family...children have attended schools in Germany, Alabama, Utah & Virginia; few schools we've seen even come close to Gloria Dei! Fantastic faculty, challenging curriculum, and a wonderful education setting. Our children are much older now and still consider GD the best school they ever attended. I wish I had an experience like GD when i was in school

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in her 4th year at GDL, I took her out for 4 months and tried public school. Big mistake. I highly recommend GDL to all parents.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter spent 4 wonderful years at Gloria Dei and I was so happy with Teachers and Staff. She did 2 years in preschool, 1 year of pre-k and a year in kindergarden. The teachers were very informative and concerned with the children in their class and they gave excellent advice on how to help my child. The teachers were not affraid to tell you how they felt about your child and how they were doing.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 2

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
The quality of academics at Gloria Dei Lutheran was outstanding while my son attended from his first until his fifth year. Then several subjects weren't taught up to the standards I came to expect. I feel also that there is a lack of diversity in the teaching staff and student population which causes many cultural problems that went un-addressed even when brought to the principle and pastor's attention.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gloria Dei Lutheran School
250 Fox Hill Road, Hampton, VA  23669
(757) 851-6292
Last modified Gloria Dei Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-7
Gloria Dei Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top