Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Classical School

Private | PK-6 | 91 students

We are best known for rigorous academics & a family-oriented community.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Hampton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted August 23, 2011

CCS believes passionately in assisting, not replacing, parents in the education of their children. We offer a rigorous academic program woven together by the truths of God's Word. If a school is doing its job, children will be prepared for college and career, but this is not the focus of education. Education is for the purpose of training the mind toward a truth-based application of knowledge; training the mind towards wisdom and a life-long love of learning.

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

As the previous review states, no school is perfect. CCS is no exception. But in evaluating anything, you pick out those things that are most important to aid others in their school choices. The homework load can be a bit overwhelming, but that is something presented clearly upon admission. The tests (i'm referring to 3rd grade) are mostly full written complete sentence answers which blows me away! They really make sure these kids KNOW the information. No short term memory work here! Teachers very accessible and willing to work with my children and myself in our difficulties. I don't know how many teachers would respond back to my 10:00 pm email at 10:05, but ours did! Sure there are some things that could improve, but are they worth worrying others about? Nope! I can take these minor incidents to the principal and handle them without hassle. My children are precious cargo and I handle their school choice with great care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

Clearly these comments are all biased, There is no perfect school. I would love a real evaluation. Also looking at the dates it seems as the the reviews were prompted by school administrators. I have heard good and bad about this school from people that have come and gone, both students and teachers it is sad that these reviews are so biased. :(


Posted August 15, 2013

A positive, loving culture with high standards for academics and character. An excellent continuation of our personal parenting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Calvary is a unique school that provides students a fantastic opportunity to learn a large quantity of material in a small class setting. Teachers love teaching and students love learning - this is the environment parents crave for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

We are an Air Force family who just left the Hampton Roads area after 3 awesome years at CCS. On the last day of school, I wept, and that is no exaggeration. This school is a family. They nurtured and loved our girls through Pre-K, Kindergarten and 1st grade and the education they received is second to none. Some of the literature in the welcome packet says, "You'll wish you could go back to school!" and that is true! The techniques and methods they use to teach all subjects are amazing. They are not teaching to a test, they are teaching the children how to learn. They learn so much and they LOVE going to school! And all of it is done with positive attitudes, loving discipline and an abundance of excellence in every area. Field trips, soccer teams, music, art, drama... all there. Individual attention and encouragement, SMALL class sizes, a secure environment. And above all, these people are committed to showing the love of Jesus to the children in their care, and teaching them how to share that love with the world around them and beyond. The tuition we paid was the best money we have EVER spent. You can't go wrong with CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

The perfect place for our kids. You could not find a better school! We are so pleased with our home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Calvary Classical School is an amazing Classical school with intelligent, nurturing and excellent teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2013

Calvary Classical School is a wonderful Christ- centered school that I have not only attended, but have also had the pleasure to work at. I attended Calvary from K5 until 7th grade. As a student, I always enjoyed the teachers who were eager to go the extra mile. The small class sizes were delightful environments to build relationships that I still have, as well as to receive a personal learning experience. As an employee, working at the school was both uplifting and exciting. Many special guests have come to visit the school, providing their audience with learning in a fun way. The teachers are very responsive and have Christ as their focus. The classical model which I began learning at Calvary has continually been critical to my education and spiritual growth. The Grammar stage is crucial for those who wish to continue the trivium because it teaches students how to think, not what to think. It teaches children the basics of proper speaking and writing. I would strongly recommend this school to any family looking for a Christian school with caring teachers and exciting opportunities for learning and growth.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2013

Before Calvary taking my daughter to school was a struggle. Now, she is excited, enthusiastic, and really connected with her peers. This school is our educational home! I highly recommend Calvary for any family looking for a school that brings you into the fold. We are beyond happy with the transformation that our daughter has made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

I am so greatful that my kids can go to Calvary. It is a place where to can learn truth., learn how to think about truth and how to share that truth with those in their sphere of influence. I love when we can discuss some of the truths they have learned. I love to watch them grow and learn. Calvary is a blessing to my children and to our family. It is a privilege to send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

My wife and I could not be happier with the quality of education our children are receiving. When we were looking for a school we wanted to find a place that would provide a rigorous academic experience with a Christian perspective. We have found the teachers to be very kind while maintaining high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

We have had four children attend Calvary. I cannot say enough about the quality of education and the attention given to the needs of the individual child. Not all children are created equal. Even our children who have had learning difficulties have found helpful and willing teachers, staff, and administration. I truly believe Calvary will look for the best way to teach each student that comes through their doors. I'm so thankful for their willingness to work with students who struggle and their willingness to challenge students who are able to excel. Their work with student who need extra attention is expanding, and I'm grateful for the willingness to grow and adapt to the needs of these students. Their ability to work with students who are able to surpass expectations is also to be commended. I wouldn't have my children, with each of their individual needs, anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Calvary Classical was the blessing my family was searching for. Upon moving to the area, my daughter spent the rest of her 1st grade year in public school. We were not impressed with the instruction, delivery, relevance, or rigor of the work she received. Once I became employed I immediately began the search for a private school that reflected the one we have just left. Blessing upon blessings, I found Calvary! This past year my daughter has bloomed and blossomed beyond our wildest imagination. The curriculum provides the challenges that she needs and deserves. Her teacher has the kindest, warmest disposition and my daughter adores her. My youngest will enter first grade there this fall and we are enthusiastic to see how she does. The expense is not the question; what is your child worth, is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

We were homeschooling using the classical method when we moved to VA and found CCS. My daughter entered the 3rd grade and our family was quickly embraced and we found a true 'family' at CCS. The transition was smooth, the academics are just right (difficult but not overwhelming) and the teachers are top-notch. The principal and teachers deal with my daughter's heart, not just her actions - and the fact that she is the first one up each day, begging to go to 4th grade shows just that. We love CCS and plan on staying there for the entirety of her grammar school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

We chose to send our child to Calvary Classical School not just because of their emphasis on Jesus in all learning and events, but because the faculty and staff love Jesus and it shows in their lives. They also show Jesus' love to my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Calvary Classical School is a family at heart. The parents, administrators, and teachers work tirelessly to honor the Lord while educating and nurturing their students. The academics are second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Calvary Classical School is a wonderful school that partners with the parents to encourage the children to be thinking, respectful, and God glorifying students. Each of our children has begun CCS in Kindergarten and we couldn't be more please with the education they have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

I love how Christ is incorporated into EVERY aspect of learning at Calvary Classical School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

This school has a fantastic curriculum that is both challenging and God based. My daughter has attended since K4 and it is like a family! The teachers and leadership are more than we could have ever imagined!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I am a parent with 3 children at CCS. Our oldest daughter started attending in K4 and is now in 4th grade. We are so glad to have found a school that works in concert with the parents. Our children love and respect their teachers and have developed a real love for learning. We are so thankful that the Lord brought us to CCS to help us prepare a strong foundation in the hearts and minds of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lori L. Rogers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian Church of America
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (757) 826-4917

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
private
public
homeschool

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

403 Whealton Rd
Hampton, VA 23666
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 262-0062

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carver Elementary School
Newport News, VA





Hilton Elementary School
Newport News, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT