Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George P Phenix Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Thanks Mrs. Salazar for being such a good teacher to my grandson Michael. Your tough, but you are caring and thoughtful at the same time, and for that, we all thank you and appreciate what you do always, for all your students, keep up the great work!

George P Phenix Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are strict but kind and caring at the same time. There has never been a time that my grandson has come and said his teacher was being unfair to him. When he got in trouble in class, he always knew it was his fault , not the teachers..


George P Phenix Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Yes, it has always instill respect, kindness and support. They have always worked on getting the students to respect each other, support one another, and be kind to there fellow student. They have a no bullying policy where there is zero tolerance..

George P Phenix Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Yes, they are very caring, good and stand behind there students!. The Staff has always strict, but caring. They stand behind there school policies, and they are always willing to take care of anything that comes up, regardless of the situation.

George P Phenix Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Yes, they have policies in place that do not tolerate bullying, bad behavior etc. We have had a couple of issues on the school bus, and even there, the school has gotten on top of the situations immediately!


George P Phenix Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Great teachers, great staff, great school overall..My grandson Michael Truckenmiller, started Kindgarten in 2011 and we have been always satisfied with the curriculum, the teachers dedication and how much they care overall. I have another grandson starting school next year and I am looking forward to his time there as well..I want to thank all the Teachers we have been associated with so far! Mrs Roberts, Ms Butts, Mrs Salazar, and one more, that I can't remember her name, sorry..Keep up the great work!

George P Phenix Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The guidance department goes to classes and teaches these specific traits and how it looks when you use them.

George P Phenix Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
We bike to school and the greatness starts with Miss Jennie the crossing guard. Teachers communicate well and use creative and fun ways to engage the kids. They have incredible access to technology. The school is very diverse which adds to its greatness. The administration is prompt in handling any parent concerns. York County can keep their schools!


George P Phenix Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had previously attended TABB, a York Co. School. I can honestly say that we are much happier at Phenix! This school has the best parent/staff communication I've ever seen. They have a fantastic curriculum, the teaching staff is phenomenal, and they have an outstanding band and chorus program!

George P Phenix Elementary School 4

Posted November 15, 2014
- a parent
I consider myself to be an involved parent that is an inquiring mind. My daughter attends and has been there for about four years from elementary to currently middle school. I've found that the staff from the principal to the teachers communicate very well and keep everyone up to speed with voicemails as well as emails. My child was an A/B Honor Roll student prior to attending and has maintained that throughout her matriculation thus far. When she's taken SOL testing, she's gotten higher scores in the average category as well as above average many times. Sometimes it does seem that the teachers give quite a bit of homework, however I would rather them do that than not to ensure that the material is being learned. The teachers seem to be enthusiastic about teaching, creative, and fair. They also have a great band program as well. The schools had a traffic problem in years past, but have resolved it this year and it flows very smoothly now. Overall I think it's a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George P Phenix Elementary School
1061 Big Bethel Rd, Hampton, VA  23666
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (757) 268-3500
Last modified George P Phenix Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top