Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Armstrong Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 309 students

Excellent School for the Arts
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

My children have attended this school for the last 2 years and I must say that I am highly pleased with the level of education and support. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

Greatest principal I've ever known. Caring, dedicated, full of love for all her kids and their families. Hollywood should make movie about her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

This school is absolutely fantastic in more ways than one. My son has really connected with the students and faculty here and i have found that he ha relly blossomed and found himself this year. I wouldnt want him to be anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

This is the school where your children are learning through a creative, safe environment. Great Principal leadership and teachers are lovely and respectful of the children. Very happy to be part of Armstrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Both of my girls have attended Armstrong. My youngest is still there. The staff is A+++, very caring, well prepared and will give your child an excellent education. However, be prepared to be an involved parent because your child will have lots of homework and reading to do. It was a bit overwhelming at times when both my girls where there but it is SO worth it. Your child will be very well prepared for Middle school. And did I mention they loved it there?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

My two sons attend Armstrong, both coming from DOD schools in Europe. We came into VA so far behind and everyone at Armstrong has worked with us to get my children caught up. I'm certain this was best choice. Both my boys are strong in Math and Science but one of my kids is a great musician/singer and they foster opportunities for him to perform whenever possible. There is a good deal expected from each student but the rewards are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I'm so glad my son gets to attend this school. Love the curriculum orientation towards the arts, it has make it more fun for my son to learn. He paints, cooks, create, sings... while learning math, science, reading... there is not other school I would like my son to attend. Yes, there is homework. You want your kids to succed, right?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

As I read some of the negative comments I just shake my head. I have three children at Armstrong. It is a challenging school. School gets out at 3:35 and homework gets done by 4:45 at the latest. If you can't spend an hour with your child working with them on their education then this is not a school for you. But, if you want the next best thing to a private school education and you are a supportive parent who makes time for your kids, then Armstrong is it. Great teacher support, open door policies, strong leadership. Go spend some time in the classroom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I love this school! The office is wonderful and the first grade has been very gracious about concerns regarding homework etc. I love the creativity that is exhibited there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I am dissapointed with this school. I thought it was better, but I was so wrong. They have their own clicks and i think that is so not professional. I think everyone should be treated equal, and i believe that's not the way it is at this school. They have favorites... Professionalism and the care and concern of the children should be their first priority and not favortism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

This school gives out an unbelievable amount of homework. You cannot get the extra help your child may need. On the surface, the school sounds great, with high scores, but the pressure on these kids is terrible. The school is also totally geared toward the left-brained math minded child and not the creative right-brained child. We are seriously considering private school or homeschool next year. Armstrong is great if your kid has a photographic memory and doesn't try to think outside the box. But for the truly brillant, creative child, it's suppressive and its teachers are too comfortable in their positions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Armstrong is cozy, with only 400 students and scores high in the SOLs. This is a double-edge sword, however. If your child is struggling, they will help, but there is so much pressure on the parents, students and teachers to keep the school's high 90s score, that it becomes an extremely stressful school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

Our daughter has attended Armstrong since kindergarten and she's now in the 3rd grade. The staff and teachers are the best, helping every student achieve their best; we would never want her to attend any other school. Seeing how the SOL tests compared to other schools surprised us, and that made the school even more attractive. However, my wife and I have come to realize that in order to achieve these results, a lot of homework is given to students. ). The curriculum is demanding so just be prepared. If you strive to get your child to bed by 8:30pm as we do, there won t be much room for anything else. Gotta go now homework to do ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

My son began attending Armstrong last year as a Kindergarden student. He loves the school and I love the attention that is given to each childs needs and their learning level. The teachers, principal and vice-principal, as well as everyone else that works at the school, are all wonderful people that are very involved with the kids. We love this school and we are so happy we found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2004

In march 2004 we started looking for a new home. As any good parent of three would, I wouldn't seriously consider the house until I checked out the school. Once we visited this great website and saw the scores at Armstrong Elem, We made sure moved into a house within this school zone! Two of my children finished up this academic year at Armstrong and it is truly a wonderful school. They have great and caring teachers like Mrs. Deboer and Ms. Perkins! A Great office staff who are actually welcoming and nice, and they smile too! My kids are being challenged and they really like going to school! Wow! Keep up the excellence Armstrong! You're fabulous
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students93%
Male students89%
Black students90%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students90%
Female students93%
Male students85%
Black students87%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Science

All Students96%
Female students98%
Male students93%
Black students94%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students96%
Male students77%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students92%
Female students87%
Male students95%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students96%
Male students91%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students92%
Male students83%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students96%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

Science

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Virginia DOE Distinguished Achievement Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:35 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Levia M. Stovall
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • visual arts, music, drama, and dance
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Girl Power
  • K-Kids
  • Young Astronauts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3401 Matoaka Rd
Hampton, VA 23661
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 727-1067

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hunter B. Andrews
Hampton, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT