Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 309
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended this school for the last 2 years and I must say that I am highly pleased with the level of education and support. I would recommend this school to anyone!

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
Greatest principal I've ever known. Caring, dedicated, full of love for all her kids and their families. Hollywood should make movie about her!


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is absolutely fantastic in more ways than one. My son has really connected with the students and faculty here and i have found that he ha relly blossomed and found himself this year. I wouldnt want him to be anywhere else!

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
This is the school where your children are learning through a creative, safe environment. Great Principal leadership and teachers are lovely and respectful of the children. Very happy to be part of Armstrong.

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Both of my girls have attended Armstrong. My youngest is still there. The staff is A+++, very caring, well prepared and will give your child an excellent education. However, be prepared to be an involved parent because your child will have lots of homework and reading to do. It was a bit overwhelming at times when both my girls where there but it is SO worth it. Your child will be very well prepared for Middle school. And did I mention they loved it there?!


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
My two sons attend Armstrong, both coming from DOD schools in Europe. We came into VA so far behind and everyone at Armstrong has worked with us to get my children caught up. I'm certain this was best choice. Both my boys are strong in Math and Science but one of my kids is a great musician/singer and they foster opportunities for him to perform whenever possible. There is a good deal expected from each student but the rewards are amazing!

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
I'm so glad my son gets to attend this school. Love the curriculum orientation towards the arts, it has make it more fun for my son to learn. He paints, cooks, create, sings... while learning math, science, reading... there is not other school I would like my son to attend. Yes, there is homework. You want your kids to succed, right?

Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2011
- a parent
As I read some of the negative comments I just shake my head. I have three children at Armstrong. It is a challenging school. School gets out at 3:35 and homework gets done by 4:45 at the latest. If you can't spend an hour with your child working with them on their education then this is not a school for you. But, if you want the next best thing to a private school education and you are a supportive parent who makes time for your kids, then Armstrong is it. Great teacher support, open door policies, strong leadership. Go spend some time in the classroom!


Armstrong Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Armstrong Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! The office is wonderful and the first grade has been very gracious about concerns regarding homework etc. I love the creativity that is exhibited there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Armstrong Elementary School
3401 Matoaka Rd, Hampton, VA  23661
(757) 727-1067
Last modified Armstrong Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Armstrong Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top