Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barron Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 407 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

This is a great public school, with a caring staff, dedicated teachers and a hard-working PTA. It doesn't get the credit it deserves. Its reading program is an important feature of the School, with an exceptional reading specialist. The principal is dynamic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

Barron Fundamental School is one of the better elementary schools in Hampton. It has excellent, experienced teachers and an exceptional and capable administrative staff. Our girls receive rigorous homework. The PTA is exceptional; always planning events, carnivals, book activities, dances. The resource teachers are exceptional, and we enjoy our girls learning art techniques, musical instruments (the PTA donated recorders to all 3rd graders last school year), and athletic skills. The support staff is friendly and quite involved with all aspects of running Barron. There is a strong team spirit there. As academically educated people, we want the best for our girls and we believe Barron is providing an appropriate start. The only drawback is that some, not ALL parents are not involved with the PTA and are not as discerning with social skills that children should exhibit. Otherwise, my husband and I are very happy with the education our girls is receiving at Barron.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

Barron falls short of an acceptable school in several arenas: It does not support it's parents. It does nothing to prevent bullying and has staff that condones the behavior by doing nothing. I have special needs children that have not been treated well at all. In this past year I have convened a special meeting with the mayor's office on military affairs to partner with this school and it's lackluster administration. In the end, I opted to remove my children from this menacing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

The teachers at Barron are wonderful! They are very helpful and work with the children wonderfully. My daughter has learned so much this past school year, it's amazing to watch her grow and learn with such support. My only complaint is about some of the other students, they are VERY disruptful and it takes away from the education. As a public school system there is only so much they can do. I feel, as a parent, that correcting this behavior needs to be an 80/20 effort with the majority on the parents. I could tell you kindergarden horror stories about a few of the peers in my daughter's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

This school has not met the metric for an excellent school. Poorly staffed and not at what I expected. I am a doctor in govt service and my wife is a pediatric nurse. I think we will have to consider private options
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

This is a great school!! My kids love it..I don't know what I would do with this school...We love you Barron Elem..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

I think Barron rocks!! I have three boys going there. It is to me by far the best elementary school in the area. The staff are awesome with the kids, and it is always a welcoming place to us parents. We are out of zone so I take and pick up each day and don't mind at all. We have a great PTA, the after school program is great,etc.. I couldn't be happier. Our Principal is the best one I have ever come across, and now we have a new Asst. Principal who is fansastic as well. You can't go wrong at Barron. What can I say my boys love it, and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

I think Barron is a great school. My child has attended Barron for 2 yrs now. He enjoys the school and his teachers. The teachers seem very concerned for the overall well-being of the children. However, I do wish there could be a more participation in classroom selection for upcoming school yrs amongst parents and staff. For example, I was originally told my child would be going to one of his former teachers classes for the next school year, of which him and I were very excited, but then we were told due to written requests by other parents, he was 'bumped' into a different class. I still think the school is great because the principal & vice principal have a team spirit & caring demeanor toward their kids. Overall, my child is still quite happy at his school and the schools sols are competitive and they have a pretty active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

I love this school. My daughter went there for 2nd grade and she loved it. The teachers are really caring and the students truly benefit from that. I loved the Terrific Kids program where students who met their goal for each nine week session was rewarded. It really kept her motivated. However parents should be aware that if their child is not zoned for that school then it would be the parent's responsibilty to bring and pick up the child everyday. However I would still highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students93%
Male students81%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students83%
Female students86%
Male students81%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students92%
Female students96%
Male students89%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students69%
Male students77%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students87%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students70%
Male students62%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

English: Writing

All Students60%
Female students68%
Male students53%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students59%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%

Math

All Students57%
Female students45%
Male students68%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students46%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students81%
Female students79%
Male students82%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Andrea L. Riddick

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Fox Hill Rd
Hampton, VA 23669
Phone: (757) 850-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT