Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Good people and teachers they are nice to the kid you can make friends easily

Benjamin Syms Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
This school is terrible. The teachers DO NOT help students that are in need of extra help. My son is a prime example. He asked several teachers, several times and got brushed off. The assistant principal and guidance councilor is of no help either. There is bullying, and I feel just not by the students but the teachers as well. I was told by a teachers' spouse that my child does not belong at Syms, he belongs at Spratley. What does that say? Avoid this school if you can, for your child's sake.


Benjamin Syms Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The teachers really care and are willing to help students that may need a little extra help. The administration is more than willing to work with children with disabilities and to accommodate to the needs of the child unlike another middle school in Hampton that was not willing to do so. I was very happy with the 7th grade teachers that my child had last year and am happy so far with the 8th grade teachers that he has this year. This school is very big on communication which is definatley high on my list!

Benjamin Syms Middle School 1

Posted June 04, 2010
- a community member
The history professor said the students won't take the time to complete textbook- higher level assignments so he recommended simple word searches and crossword puzzles for homework each night.

Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Syms MS is a very clean and fair school. There is no bullying. Everyone seems to get along. The teachers are great. They definitely teach the children. If you don't understand someone, they are more than willing to further explain and take their valuable time to help the students. The programs are exceptional. Go Hampton!


Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
Benjamin Syms is a wonderful middle school. The lockers are a LITTLE small but i guess thats to assure that no one gets jamed in one. Lol! The teachers are as nice as they can be and the principal is wonderful! I havent had or witnessed any problems with bullies, but by reading these reviews apparently others have. Overall, I love this school.

Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a student

Benjamin Syms Middle School
no rating

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of a 7th grader at Syms, Ive had three other children in Syms and had no problems, but my youngest has had nothing but problems, the school needs to get a handle on the BULLIES, there should be a ZERO Tolerence policy for this behavior, over all I think this problem could be solved, but the staff needs to stop ignoring issues and deal with them head on.


Benjamin Syms Middle School 1

Posted January 24, 2009
- a parent
For Special Education this school needs assistance.

Benjamin Syms Middle School
no rating

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
syms middle shool is an amazing school for my child to grow and learn in a healthy enviroment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benjamin Syms Middle School
170 Fox Hill Rd, Hampton, VA  23669
(757) 850-5050
Last modified Benjamin Syms Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benjamin Syms Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top