Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Good people and teachers they are nice to the kid you can make friends easily

Benjamin Syms Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
This school is terrible. The teachers DO NOT help students that are in need of extra help. My son is a prime example. He asked several teachers, several times and got brushed off. The assistant principal and guidance councilor is of no help either. There is bullying, and I feel just not by the students but the teachers as well. I was told by a teachers' spouse that my child does not belong at Syms, he belongs at Spratley. What does that say? Avoid this school if you can, for your child's sake.


Benjamin Syms Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The teachers really care and are willing to help students that may need a little extra help. The administration is more than willing to work with children with disabilities and to accommodate to the needs of the child unlike another middle school in Hampton that was not willing to do so. I was very happy with the 7th grade teachers that my child had last year and am happy so far with the 8th grade teachers that he has this year. This school is very big on communication which is definatley high on my list!

Benjamin Syms Middle School 1

Posted June 04, 2010
- a community member
The history professor said the students won't take the time to complete textbook- higher level assignments so he recommended simple word searches and crossword puzzles for homework each night.

Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Syms MS is a very clean and fair school. There is no bullying. Everyone seems to get along. The teachers are great. They definitely teach the children. If you don't understand someone, they are more than willing to further explain and take their valuable time to help the students. The programs are exceptional. Go Hampton!


Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
Benjamin Syms is a wonderful middle school. The lockers are a LITTLE small but i guess thats to assure that no one gets jamed in one. Lol! The teachers are as nice as they can be and the principal is wonderful! I havent had or witnessed any problems with bullies, but by reading these reviews apparently others have. Overall, I love this school.

Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a student
it's a great fun filled school

Benjamin Syms Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of a 7th grader at Syms, Ive had three other children in Syms and had no problems, but my youngest has had nothing but problems, the school needs to get a handle on the BULLIES, there should be a ZERO Tolerence policy for this behavior, over all I think this problem could be solved, but the staff needs to stop ignoring issues and deal with them head on.


Benjamin Syms Middle School 3

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Benjamin Syms Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benjamin Syms Middle School
170 Fox Hill Rd, Hampton, VA  23669
(757) 850-5050
Last modified Benjamin Syms Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benjamin Syms Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top