Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bethel High School

Public | 9-12 | 1716 students

Governor's Health Sciences Academy
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

I am glad my son has graduated and he is out of that place!!! Very little communication on when school pictures are being taken. With all the things that go on during senior year I was making several to two two staff member in charge of the senior class for information and they NEVER called me back! Numerous other times overt the years as well. I had to go up to that school on a number of occasions hunting down teachers for information. The Dean of Boys and Girls seem like they get paid by the amount of students they drag in their office. The dean of girls assumed on 2 occasions that my son was doing something that he actually wasn't. I had to go and ask more questions and come to find our she overreacted. I cannot stand that school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2014

My son is a rising junior and the school has definitely approved since he was a freshman. He has had great teachers both years! Mr. Saunders is a great principal and care very much about the students. As in all high schools there are problems if kids but glad on the improvement the administration has taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My son is a freshman at Bethel. He has come home and told me about several fights in the school. This is typical of high school, but the teachers tend to not get involved. Of course, I'm not sure I blame them. The worst part about the school is the lack of communication from the teachers; not all teacher, but the majority that my son has this year. Several of his teacher lag behind putting grades into the system so that we can monitor his success. Buy the time grades are entered, it's too late to do anything about it. The office staff is not very friendly either. The JROTC instructor (one of them) is also a coach. He has the student repeat after him in ebonics. I have taught my children the correct way to speak since they began talking. I have a problem with this. This is a low class school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

I am a parent of two Bethel HS alumni and currently a Sophomore. Fortunately, my children were all Talented and Gifted so regardless of the overcrowding and few "bad apples" they excelled. For the most part, Bethel guidance counselors are horrible and should be replaced. I could sit around pointing out the negatives but I don't believe in making excuses because you can control your academic destiny. My two kids graduated with top honors w/ over $100K in Presidential Scholarships...and none were for sports! My other kid is doing quite awesome. Don't judge BHS by the negative reviews. Like most schools in the country, budget constraints are a problem. Bethel HS, in comparison with Kecoughtan, Phoebus, and Hampton which are all HS within the Hampton City School District don't reflect much variation in academic achievements, sports, teacher to student ratio, etc. Hampton School District is rich in cultural diversity opposed to Yorktown and other outlying school districts which reflect predominantly a white student body. The sadness is that most urban students don't realize the "social conditioning" of being taught to think "white is superior and minorities are inferior."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

what do i have to say about Bethel high school it is Terrible!!. Im a junior at Bethel and wasn't always at bethel my freshman year i was at Grafton high school in York county and that school was great. Bethel is nothing but Drama and fights we even had a School Shooting threat at the beginning of this year. The students are so ignorant and the Guidance you never get anything done with them.When i was at Grafton i made As and Bs and since i switch to bethel im starting to get Fs thats never happen to me before. Im tired of Bethel and i feel a Shame im graduating from this school im just happy im going to Kecoughtan high next year ive had it with bethel its nothing but Ghetto overcrowded the building is old and out dated and the some of the teachers cant teach. so for people moving to this side of hampton PUT YOUR KIDS IN PRIVATE SCHOOL its not worth your time being at bethel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2011

school is hit or miss with staff, facilities, and student behavior. Central administration of system is internally a joke. The need to get staff and community on same page is crucial. school administration can be hamstringed at times by central administration. student behavior is an issue. Teachers need to feel supported. Surveys given are lied on to be honest. The extremes are what people notice. the average kids are the ones hurt the most is most schools like this. There must be a honest consensus on BEHAVIOR in school are the school will deteriorate.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2008

The guidance counselor's are pathetic. They have no clue as to what is going on and never return phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

I attend Bethel, and the school gets an 'average' in my opinion. The halls are overcrowded, there is a slight roach problem, and the school focuses to much on sports, but overall, its an alright school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2008

I actually graduated from this school many years ago and have had now three of my children attend i am very disappointed in the this school it is very dirty and unkept it is overcrowded and in need of serious renovation.Teachers donot seem to want any parental involvement.Guidance has no idea what is going on half the time and are very disorganized.And if you ask a question you are directed to every dept beside what you need.As a alumni of this school i know this could be much better and is unfortunate that it has declined so much over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I feel Bethel is grossly overcrowded and a lot of the teachers do not seem enthusiastic about being teachers. Also, a lot of students are falling through the cracks and not getting the help the need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

BHS is overcrowded and the building needs renovating. There are not enough classrooms or lockers for each student. I am concerned for the school's safety, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

This school is horrible, the run-down broken facilities, apathetic teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

In the school newspaper, one of our more foward students sent a letter pointing out all the obvious problems (over-crowding, new faculty buildings taking priority over bigger halls or new classrooms) and Mr. Bailey gave a bunch of empty answers. I had a downpour in the middle of the room interupting my Government class and he wants a new office. The only thing I see in this low funded school are its computer and animation courses and the few great teachers that make this window facility bearable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2006

Our school might be over crowded but look at the kids who graduated from the school with pretty good scholarship.And the teachers do tell your child that they are failing they just dont tell parents.And your child is the reason why they always get in trouble with teachers. I dont care what nobody says Our school is one of the best school in VA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2006

this is a very low funded school. there are some music and art programs though
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Bethel High is comparatively a good school in the Hampton System. I would rate this school on the same level as Kecoughtan. With continued hard work from students, parents and teachers; I believe it could out rank some of the schools in York County. They have a great Art program, Especially animation. The level of available extra-curricular classes are outstanding. The school offers so much to the student, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this school for new students coming to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

An overcrowded urban school. The administration and faculity are too busy with discipline issues to focus on education. Facilities are in poor repair and school lacks technology
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

This is a terrible school to allow you child to attend. I feel that they do not give my children all that they deserve. The teachers to student relationship is bad and I don't feel like bethel is safe.The only reason I allow my child to stay is because I can't afford to enroll them into a better, more prestigious, private school. If this school wants to improve they better start with their teachers and principal first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

Both of my children have attended Bethel and I was and am very pleased with the quality of education that they have received. The faculty and staff have encouraged my children to excel. I agree that the school is overcrowded and in need of repairs. As to parent involvement, I have never had a problem being involved at Bethel. Every teacher has provided a means for me to check on my student's progress throughout the term and have encouraged me to stay in touch. My children have also encouraged me to be involved. During the past six years, I've not been exposed to the out-of control environment mentioned in some the reviews. Overall this is a good school. Which is probably why it is overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

The overcrowding problem is nothing new; it's been that way for years. It's not an ideal situation, but it's tolerable. As for discipline, as a BHS grad from several years ago, stick to Honors and AP classes and you'll avoid most of the problems with out of control students. Beyond that, academically some of the honors and most of the AP classes are very strong. The AP classes in particular left me well-prepared for college, and considering I went on to attend William & Mary, that's saying something. Plenty of opportunities for student involvement exist; just put yourself out there and join things you're interested in. Makes the four years that much more rewarding.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

526 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
89%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students59%
Female students60%
Male students58%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students56%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

Algebra II

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students77%
Black students75%
Asian students90%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial88%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Biology

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black students79%
Asian students90%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Chemistry

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students92%
Black students92%
Asian students88%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Earth Science

All Students71%
Female students71%
Male students71%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students82%
Black students78%
Asian students92%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students75%
Female students84%
Male students67%
Black students70%
Asian students100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial95%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Geometry

All Students77%
Female students75%
Male students79%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial88%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students87%
Female students84%
Male students89%
Black students84%
Asian students100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

World Geography

All Students88%
Female students88%
Male students89%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

World History I

All Students80%
Female students79%
Male students81%
Black students76%
Asian students91%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial92%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

World History II

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students84%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial95%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Old Dominion University
Virginia Commonwealth
Longwood University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Polaris magazine wins first place in state (2013)
  • Governor's Health Science Academy (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ralph J. Saunders
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (757) 825-4465

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Medical
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Health careers

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Old Dominion University
Virginia Commonwealth
Longwood University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 60%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1067 Big Bethel Rd
Hampton, VA 23666
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 825-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Warwick High School
Newport News, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT