Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Booker Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended Booker for the past 5 years. I currently have a fifth grader and a first grader. Today we had an activity for the first graders which involved making Gingerbread babies. I loved it. My son and I truly bonded and had a fun time. Booker is a great school for kids to attend.

Booker Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Booker Elementary School has been awesome for my kids I have a third grader and a first grader and I have been very pleased with the teachers and the office staff.


Booker Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Booker was every inviting when taking my children that are out of zone. My son has a few problems that other schools in the area that seemed like they didnt know how to handle. The teachers are very nice and understanding here are at Booker. I like the way that they get the parents involved with the activities with the kids. I am so glad that Booker was here to take my 2 out of zone children and hope that they will be able to remain next year.

Booker Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Booker has always been a warm and inviting school with caring and dedicated staff. I attended Booker myself many moons ago so I was excited and relieved to see the school had remained a safe and positive atmosphere. I would like to see more parent involvement along with programs for children to collaborate with each other, mentor one another and become invested in the success of not just themselves but their peers and the school. I would also like to see PD for some staff members that may have lost their lust for teaching and developing children.

Booker Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Gingerbread activity with my twin first graders was so much fun! Story, activity and then decorating cookies was a perfect morning. The faculty is so engaged and helpful. I love the spirit of learning here!


Booker Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Gingerbread activity was great. Me and my daughter had a great time. Cookie was delicious.

Booker Elementary School 3

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
The principal and teachers are very enthusiastic about being here and encouraging the kids to do their best. There are a lot of activities for kids and opportunities for parents to be involved.

Booker Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
My children's teachers are awesome, some of the other parents have issues with theirs though. The activities are good too, sometimes ill-timed in notice, though.


Booker Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Booker Elementary school is a great school that offers lots of parental involvement activities. Today they offered a gingerbread cookie activity for Kindergarten and parents. I am very happy to have my children attending this school.

Booker Elementary School 3

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was rezoned to Booker from Phillips this past school year. It has sadly not been a positive experience...she has encountered some bullying from her classmates, and the general atmosphere at the school is disorganized as are the teachers. Her primary classroom teacher also left mid year with no notice or explanation given, which was another difficulty in an already trying school year. Phillips Elementary is just down the road but is miles beyond in quality.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Booker Elementary School
160 Apollo Dr, Hampton, VA  23669
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (757) 850-5096
Last modified Booker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top