Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C. Alton Lindsay Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 668 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

Despite the extremely cold weather Tuesday night, families, students and teachers attended our Family Engagement Night at Lindsay Middle School. The teachers were warm and engaged participants in instructional strategies used to help students understand SOL concepts.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 4, 2013

Lindsay Middle School is a wonderful place to learn. Students are able to take advanced classes including high school credit classes. Some students can leave Lindsay with 3 or 4 high school credits.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 8, 2010

As student from this school, I think that this is possibly the worst school ever. The teachers are very judgemental and have attitdude problems. You walk in lines there even as an 8th grader. At my old school in minnesota, you didn't have to walk in lines and you didn't have "teams" that are in each grade. I think as an adolecent, you shouldn't feel like your in elementary school again. You should feel like your a step closer to becoming an adult.


Posted October 26, 2010

Thanks LMS staff! Although we have minimal exerience with VA school district, we are impressed with the involvement from the teachers and principals at LMS. They keep us well informed and up to date with our student's progress both educationally and socially. There may be teachers who are burnt out and don't care but I haven't experienced this. My opinion is that the load of the student's development should start at home and not be left up to the teachers to be truancy officers, parole officers, fill in dads (or moms), and any other role that should be filled outside the school. I expect the teachers to be educators, mentors, and role models, and this is what I have seen thus far. In order for OUR school ratings to improve parents need to step up their game and commnicate with your student and the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

The foundation of the school is great. What and how some of the teachers bring to the table to the children is where the problem begin. You have three types of teachers at this school. 30% of the teachers care about teaching the students, 70% are burnt out or with no experience on how to deal with certain situation dealing with children. Parents send their children to obtain an education but receive some teachers with no common ground. The principal need to take the time to observe both the student and the teacher before making a decision. The school need cameras in the class rooms. The teachers need to be monitored during at least quarterly for performance purposes. In addition, teachers need to have psychologic evaluation quarterly in order to maintain suitable for handling a high intense environment with children of dirrent background, cultures and background.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

that school is awsomeeeeeeee they have good teachers and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

Being a fairly new teacher at LMS, I have seen this school go through so many changes. I have never seen a group of individuals that care as much as the teachers and staff do at LMS!!! There is a unspoken 'respect/bond' that most of teachers share with one another. (In my words: 'The strong will survive and the weak will be left behind!') Lindsay Middle will continue to grow and the students will continue to succeed!!! 'Hold on tight! LMS is coming!' :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2009

This school is dynomite and I really think that people need to take responsibility with their kids and send the kids to school for the right reasons it's not about the teachers even though some of them don't care about the kids, but all in all we are a family and we will surpass all of the odd's that people put forward to try to destroy us. My take is if this family is not for you find you another family we can and will turn Lindsay around to be the elite middle school in Hampton Roads Thank You!!!!


Posted July 17, 2009

i love this school we have great thing to do here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

Lindsay Middle is poor in so many areas and I am a student that attends there. Some of the teachers here know how to teach and some do not. There are no worthy activities here and the school needs help in MANY areas its not even funny. Also we need more parents to participate if they can to help show different views and help future children who may attend there. The are really an embrassment its crazy and they are so disrespectful its not right.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

I really like the special education teachers here. As a parent of a special needs child, I understand and value the importance of teachers who know and understand my child. This is a good school. Keep up the great work...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

This school has changed so much over the last few years. The staff and the principal are doing a wonderful job with education and activities. Lunch is great. It is easy to communicate with everybody. Some of the classes are fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

This school is so much better than it was when my eldest son attended. I have a son in sixth grade now and he loves it. The teachers have communicated with me regularly. The principle does return my calls. The school is a lot cleaner than it was (it's an old building, but they r working on it). The atmospher is a lot brighter. The attitudes of the majority are very positive. The parents are getting involved and I'm looking forward to a fantastic year. Come see what we are all about, don't just trust the reviews. This is a new year and things are steadily improving. It won't be long before Lindsay Middle will be the school to attend. Give us a moment of your time and meet with Ms. Tamara Cooper, Principal and staff. They truly are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

This school has very poor leadership. Principal Tamara Cooper does not do a good job with getting back with parents. I have contacted her several times only to not have my calls returned. If she is the principal there next year I will remove my child as others have. Tamara Cooper is a bad principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

Bad School. Horrible Principal! I am a parent and expect to have the school run well. Lack of communication by Principal Tamara Cooper and staff. Poorly run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Principal has very poor communication with the parents. I have emailed using the their school homepage and it keeps coming back to me saying Mrs. Coopers email is over quota. Why have a link to email the principal if she is not going to be able to check it? Never at the school if you need to talk to her. Communication is just poor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I ama student at Lindsay Middle School and this is my first year there i really don't like it because of all the students there they are very disrespectful and get on my nerves as well some of the teachers are crazy too. Also the bathrooms are filthy (they need to call an exterminator) I am about to transfer to jones be cause I really don't like this at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2007

ThiS school has REALLY changed they definately buckled down on us. I attend 8th grade @ lindsay Middle School & was very surprised on how much they've changed!!! & last year wasn't that bad!!!! (It was all the parent's children MOST of the students had no respect for anybody including themselves!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2006

That school is not worth attending. I'm a mother and regret transferring my daughter to this school. Not just the physical of the school but how the teachers and the administration handles situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

I'm sorry to say that some of these caomments are not very truthful about this school. It is true that many of the teachers are great and really care about the kids. There are also some teachers who are abusive. Granted these were not the best of kids but they have a right to a safe and respectful learning environment. The school is filthy, I saw cochroaches in the lunchroom, with my own eyes, where the children eat. The principles are not very comunicative and they have done a good job keeping certain problems out of the pubilc eye. The SOL test scores are very low. Walk into the school, spend some time and you will see yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students55%
Female students64%
Male students47%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students61%
Female students59%
Male students61%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students64%
Male students60%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students43%
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students16%
Female students15%
Male students16%
Black students18%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities15%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students32%
Female students42%
Male students25%
Black students31%
Asian students18%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students35%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficient students18%
Proficient in English34%

English: Writing

All Students41%
Female students57%
Male students28%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students42%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English42%

Math

All Students61%
Female students70%
Male students53%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English62%

Science

All Students46%
Female students54%
Male students40%
Black students44%
Asian students27%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students54%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
Female students96%
Male students93%
Black students94%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Geometry

All Students62%
Female students68%
Male students54%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Angela N. Byrd-wright

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1636 Briarfield Rd
Hampton, VA 23661
Phone: (757) 825-4560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hunter B. Andrews
Hampton, VA


East End Academy
Newport News, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT