Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Francis Asbury Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 433 students

High Academic Achievement and Great Community Support

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2013

We moved to Southall Landings neighborhood partly because of Asbury's good ratings. I am so happy we did! My son loves going to school here. The staff has been very supportive of his learning. He had learning delays in the past, but has thrived for the past two years at Asbury.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

Also the classrooms are overfull and there are too many out of zone students. I live on beach road therefore making me INZONE so i should not have had to deal with so many other students.


Posted December 16, 2008

Although the staff is very nice, we have been very unsatisfied with the school. Communication could use improvement. The curriculum, although I'm sure they follow requirements, is extremely unchallenging if you have a child that is above average in learning. We chose this school in the district when we had to move to Hampton because of the reviews and I am sorry that it was so inaccurate, in my opinion. I recommend parents tour this school while it is in session before committing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Great school. Just moved here from Newport News and this school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

We moved to Fox Hill from Chesapeake because of the terrific schools..My daughter has been in Asbury since Kindergarten and we love it, great teachers,principal,PTA,and parent involvement. The only problem is so many out of zone students are in the school because it is the best, it does make the class sizes way to large compared to some of the other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

This school is amazing! My child has so many allergies and before she even started school which was after school had started mind you. The nurse had notified all her teachers, all cafeteria staff and they were all trained on how to use an epi pen(the allergies(mostly food ((5 types) and 2 outside of that are life threatening). So the 1st day I took her in, I went to the nurse to give her the epi pen and she told me about all this and I was in awe, I felt safe for my daughter. I love this school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This will be our 2nd year and we love it to no end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

as a father of 2 students attending Asbury as 'out of zone' students (and a husband of a Hampton City School teacher) - i am very happy with the entire Asbury experience my children are currently receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

As a parent of an in-zone student, I am not happy that so many out-of-zone students go to this school. The classes are huge and there is not enough space or resources to accomodate them. Asbury is a great school with wonderful teachers. It is too bad that the kids who are supposed to go there do not get the full attention and resources they deserve because of all of the out of zone students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

My son is in 4th grade and has been at Asbury since kindergarten, now my daughter is attending as a first-grader. They are out-of-zone students and they absolutely love being there. We have been blessed to have our children attend Asbury and we will always have fond memories as they have made great friends and the faculty is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

My daugther attended Asbury from kindergarden to 3rd grade. I love this school, the teachers are wonderful. The new principal is terrific with the student, and shows and great deal of care about the school. I love Francis Asbury. E. Gordon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2004

My son has had a wonderful experience at Asbury Elementary. The teachers are enthusiastic and want to be there. We are lucky enough to attend as an out of zone student, so we also want to be at Asbury. The PTA has wonderful parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students75%
Male students78%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students78%
Female students78%
Male students78%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students92%
Female students91%
Male students94%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students82%
Male students64%
Black students27%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students84%
Female students87%
Male students80%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students81%
Male students82%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students78%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students78%
Female students86%
Male students70%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students93%
Female students95%
Male students92%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Virginia Board of Education Excellence Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Susan Johnson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Ambassadors
  • Battle of the Books
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Syms Middle School
Jones Magnet Middle School
Kecoughtan High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 Beach Rd
Hampton, VA 23664
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 850-5075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT