Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 656
 

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jefferson Davis Middle School 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has really gone downhill since the new principal has taken over. She is not fair to her students. Then she wonders why half of her students do not respect her. Why would a student respect a principal who they see show favoritism to students of her same race. A student should not have to go though be judge by the color of their skin. Also how do you go from being principal at Eaton, to assistant principal at Davis then back to principal again. Someone on the school board is playing favoritism and the price is causing is our children education. So when parents of Davis decide to move their child to another school or take them out and home school them, then you will know why.

Jefferson Davis Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at the school in 1963.at that time it was a very good school with excellent staff. I haven't been back there since.
1 person found this helpful


Jefferson Davis Middle School 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
by far the worse school year ever! My daughter transferred here 213-2014 school year and it has been a nightmare. Unprofessional teachers. Teachers and principals have very low standards. Please do not send your children here. This school should be closed.

Jefferson Davis Middle School 2

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
This school wasn't the best school. One of the classrooms Had a beetle come out of nowhere and startle the classroom. I liked the teachers. The girls gym isn't a good gym, the boys have the better gym their gym is roomy with beautiful floors. The fountains in the gyms and locker rooms don't look clean, taste like ranch, and aren't cool. Once you get out of gym and your hot and sweaty you would want cold water.The 6th grade wing has perfect temperature but the 7th had the hot temperature and the 8th had the cold wing. The school should make the girls gym look better, cool the water in the gyms and fix the temperatures, and get rid of the bugs.

Jefferson Davis Middle School 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
my daughter hates this school and i'm not really impressed either. debating on if she will return next year


Jefferson Davis Middle School 1

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
I was a sixth grade student here before moving to Newport News, and my time here was terrible. It's very unsanitary and many of the teachers, from my experience, were very rude. The curriculum is fair, but they offer no extra-curricular activities. The gym for the girls is horrid, and the gym for the males is fairly decent and much better maintained than that of the girls. Also, the school is located in a relatively "hot" area. I, personally, under any circumstances would not return to this school. I'd much rather take my chances with the magnet program.

Jefferson Davis Middle School 1

Posted March 21, 2010
- a student
The school board needs to put cameras and microphones secretally in every classroom to see and hear what the other students are saying to each other.

Jefferson Davis Middle School 5

Posted February 20, 2010
- a student
I go to davis now in the 7th grade and I have to say .... Best school & best school year ever! hope the same 4 next year!


Jefferson Davis Middle School 4

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
its ok...the children may be rude time to time...not to often do you see kids talking about innappropiate things.The teachers are So nice. but overall its a pretty good school

Jefferson Davis Middle School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a student
i went to davis for to years and it was the best school ever.parents i suggest you send your child here theyll have a wonderful year the teachers make learning fun and exciting

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Davis Middle School
1435 Todds Ln, Hampton, VA  23666
(757) 825-4520
Last modified Jefferson Davis Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson Davis Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top