Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 345
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Two of my children go to this school. Last school year (2012-2013) the administration was wonderful. I never worried about my kids. This school year (2013-2014) my daughter had an issue and not one administrator wanted to talk to me until I demanded to speak to an administrator. I feel its all about numbers now instead of the education.

John B. Cary Elementary School 3

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Last year it was a great school awesome principle and assistant principal this year it is run like a prison and parents are not welcome but my son's teacher is great


John B. Cary Elementary School 4

Posted June 13, 2012
- a community member
My son went to pre-k there. He was in special ed and it was excellent. A lot of it as the teachers. I felt like I was welcomed and every question was And every need was attended to. They had class parties and I was always notified if there was ant kind of problem. I miss it and wished my son went there instead of Bryan. My son misses it also. His first couple of days going to Bryan he looked forward getting on the bus. After the first couple of days he did nit take to change real well and acts up in bus all the time.

John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Unlike the previous reviews, the ONLY good thing I have to say about this school is the Principle. My daughter has had problems with other kids and the principle handles the problems wonderfully. There were good teachers at this school a few years ago, but they have left. There are some nice teachers, but few good ones. We are moving to another district because the overall education at this school is declining rapidly. I have to teach my daughter her math every night. Only two kids in her grade passed the benchmark math tests, so it's obviously a problem with the teacher, no the students. The students are rude and undisciplined, and show no regard for anyone else. My daughter has been picked on many times for being white and has few friends. One girl even told her she wouldn't be her friend because she's white. I'm not saying their behavior is the school's fault, just be aware these things happen and your kids will not be happy. Not all the kids are like that, but it is predominant. My child is so miserable at this school we are moving.

John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted March 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


John B. Cary Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John B. Cary Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
This shcool would be fine without it's current leadership. This principal is unprofessional and refuses to deal with discipline issues. He threatens the students as a group and never follows through. Also, this principal tries to be friends with the students instead of a leader. The teachers and staff don't get the credit they deserve for being dedicated. Compared to other schools my child has attened, this is very weak in leadership.

John B. Cary Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
This shcool would be fine without it's current leadership. This principal is unprofessional and refuses to deal with discipline issues. He threatens the students as a group and never follows through. Also, this principal tries to be friends with the students instead of a leader. The teachers and staff don't get the credit they deserve for being dedicated. Compared to other schools my child has attened, this is very weak in leadership.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John B. Cary Elementary School
2009 Andrews Blvd, Hampton, VA  23663
(757) 850-5092
Last modified John B. Cary Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John B. Cary Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top