Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kecoughtan High School

Public | 9-12 | 1914 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

So disappointed. Seems this school is getting by on 'reputation'. I'm not impressed with the academic standards, student behavior, parent involvement or administration. Best choice...move out of the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I think everyone should know that this High School has some really good math teachers. They are just like any other High School with issues. I would not recommend this school unleass you are from this area, students are not treated fairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Best High School in Hampton, VA. Great all around - teachers, sports, academics, preparing for college, and the list goes on and on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

After 14 years of teaching in another district, I decided I needed a change or might leave teaching all together. I joined on at Kecoughtan 4 years ago and felt like I died and went to heaven. The students tend to work hard and are well disciplined. The staff and administration works very hard to maintain a positive learning environment. I would send my children to KHS on ay given day!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

The best academic school in the Hampton's....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Best high school in Hampton! Great sports teams, focus on academics, excellent teachers, variety of clubs and activities for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

Having worked in all of the HCS high schools I can say without any reluctance that Kecoughtan is by far the better of all. Its management, programs, skill levels, teachers, staff, adminstation is far superior. This is a known fact. The children are safe at KHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2008

Awesome school, and awesome administration. Very supportive of staff in all issues.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2008

this school is the best place for any young teens to attend this is an excellent place with great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

i think that this school has been a great experience for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

Kecoughtan High School, although not the absolute best school in the world, is a greater place than others for an education. The school's technology system is outstanding due to the high amount of technology classes offered there. Some people criticize Hampton City Schools (and sometimes the specific school) for not educating their children properly. Although, it is mostly the students who are at fault because Kecoughtan (and most other Hampton City Schools) offers an outstanding education, it's just that some student's have no motivation to take advantage of the great, free education before them, despite the best efforts of the teachers, administration, and district. Kecoughtan's academic, soccer, tennis, and other sports teams are outstanding. Parental involvement could be improved upon, as well as the facilities/buildings of the school which were built back in the 1960's/1970's. Kecoughtan has some wonderful teachers, and those are the teachers who really make Kecoughtan shine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2004

I attended this school not too long ago, it is a great High School, I have seen others. There have been great improvements made over the recent years. As a parent I am living in this district just so my children can attend this school. Many of the teachers are still here teaching after all these years and that says a great deal about a school. I do think there is a problem with crowding during the lunches. There are only two lunches for 1900 students. My teens have to bring their lunches because there isn't time to make it through the lunch line. Address this issue please.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

I'm not a parent to a student of this school but a student as well. I experienced different from the person who last rated this school before me. I made alot of good friends and a great amount of teachers. Some of those teachers that I was with are also some I wouldn't mind visiting again sometime in the near future. The security was always on time when needed as well; and I'm sure other schools have the same problems with the fights and stuff like that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2003

I'm not a parent of a student that attends this school. Rather, I am a student. Overall Kecoughtan is a good school. There are times when students aren't treated like young adults. It is said that you get more freedom in high school but here that isn't so. We also have teachers that should never have been hired in the first place. I find it ironic that some teachers don't even teach. One good thing I can say about this school is that I feel safe. Fights are rare and hall monitors are abundant.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

585 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students91%
Female students94%
Male students88%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Algebra II

All Students65%
Female students63%
Male students66%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial81%
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Biology

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students86%
Black students83%
Asian students100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial90%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female students88%
Male students96%
Black students84%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Earth Science

All Students82%
Female students79%
Male students86%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students89%
Male students87%
Black students81%
Asian students92%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students88%
Male students81%
Black students79%
Asian students100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial83%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Geometry

All Students78%
Female students75%
Male students80%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracial90%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students91%
Black students87%
Asian students85%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

World Geography

All Students93%
Female students91%
Male students96%
Black students87%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

World History I

All Students85%
Female students81%
Male students89%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

World History II

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students86%
Black students80%
Asian students92%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial95%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

522 Woodland Rd
Hampton, VA 23669
Phone: (757) 850-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT