Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 1,914

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kecoughtan High School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a student
I am a KHS alumni at a top-tier university. Kecoughtan has a rigorous, large AP program that helps students prepare for college classes. Many of the AP students are accepted to top-tier schools, like Virginia Tech Engineering, William and Mary, and UVA. Calculus at KHS gets perhaps the highest marks in the Peninsula with their teaching, especially in BC. I know that AP Psych consistently gets 5's for many of their students. This is the best high school in Hampton and students across the city go here to take our AP classes since we offer so many.

Kecoughtan High School 1

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
So disappointed. Seems this school is getting by on 'reputation'. I'm not impressed with the academic standards, student behavior, parent involvement or administration. Best choice...move out of the city.


Kecoughtan High School 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
I think everyone should know that this High School has some really good math teachers. They are just like any other High School with issues. I would not recommend this school unleass you are from this area, students are not treated fairly.

Kecoughtan High School 4

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
Best High School in Hampton, VA. Great all around - teachers, sports, academics, preparing for college, and the list goes on and on.

Kecoughtan High School 5

Posted January 13, 2010
- a teacher
After 14 years of teaching in another district, I decided I needed a change or might leave teaching all together. I joined on at Kecoughtan 4 years ago and felt like I died and went to heaven. The students tend to work hard and are well disciplined. The staff and administration works very hard to maintain a positive learning environment. I would send my children to KHS on ay given day!


Kecoughtan High School 1

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kecoughtan High School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The best academic school in the Hampton's....

Kecoughtan High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Best high school in Hampton! Great sports teams, focus on academics, excellent teachers, variety of clubs and activities for students.


Kecoughtan High School 0
no rating

Posted July 03, 2009
- a teacher
Having worked in all of the HCS high schools I can say without any reluctance that Kecoughtan is by far the better of all. Its management, programs, skill levels, teachers, staff, adminstation is far superior. This is a known fact. The children are safe at KHS.

Kecoughtan High School 3

Posted January 11, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kecoughtan High School
522 Woodland Rd, Hampton, VA  23669
(757) 850-5000
Last modified Kecoughtan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kecoughtan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top