Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Luther W. Machen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 495 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

We LOVE Machen! We have had 3 of our 4 children graduate from here and are looking forward to #4 doing the same. The teachers and administrators are TOP NOTCH! We know they really care about all the students and families. We attended the Gingerbread house Family night and HAD.A.BLAST!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

I am so impressed with Machen Elementary. It is truly a nurturing and loving environment for the students. The Principle, Ms. Thomas, provides encouragement, discipline, guidance and genuine care for her students. It is clearly evident that she loves her job. Her standards are also reflective with the faculty staff. The students have a great record for perfect attendence which is clearly indicative that they enjoy going to school at Machen. Great leadership and faculty staff educating our children. I am so impressed with this school!


Posted November 20, 2013

Machen is a family, friendly community school. The teachers are very dedicated to the well being of all the children. There is a great emphasis not only on academics but parental involvement. My students enjoy going to school and knows everybody by name. One of the great schools in Hampton
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I am proud to work at Machen elementary school. The teachers at this school are excellent! They are extremely knowledgeable and use research-based best practices to meet the needs of all students. They care about each and every child who walks through their doors.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2013

This school is amazing. The administration Mrs. Thomas and Mrs. Green Stephenson genuinely care and spend time building a rapport with students as well as parents. The staff is dedicated and focused to child centered education. They allow the children to be an active part of their education. I would recommend this school hands down!! Its a loving and fun environment for students. They offer a program for children to thrive academically as well as socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

I have been in machen for about six years i do not recommend you child to go there it is the worst school on this planet the teachers yell at the kids sometimes even beat them with rulers and curse at them so I dont like this school at ALL dont send your child there it is miserable if they have to go to the restroom they have to go to the principle first


Posted September 2, 2013

My name is Regina Higginbotham. I came to this school when I was about six or seven. I personaly love this school I grew up in this school. I am now ten years old turn eleven in October. I love all the teachers. Next year in June I will be graduating. I will always remember this school. I love it a lot! I think that any kid who will go here will have an amazing year and years to go! I am now in fifth grade at machen. Shout out to Ms.Hammock she was and still is the best art teacher! Mrs.Friesz was my favorite and best teacher in the whole world! Mrs.Tomas was and still is a awesome, sweet, and caring principal! I love machen a lot I will always look back and remember all the fun times! Like going on the spirit of Norfolk cruse it was a lot of fun! Thanks to machen I have had the best years of my life! ~sincerely Regina Higginbotham


Posted August 21, 2008

i went to this school for 5 years and personaaly i think its a great place to send your child to in order for them to get a great education. i was on honor roll for the 5 years i attended machen. i recieved numerous awards, expanded my vocabulary, and made great friends all during my time at machen elementary. i highly recommend this school to any parents or guardians in the area. honestly, i enjoyed being there. i miss those days. im looking forward to returning to machen to visit some of my old teacher such as laura edwards and janice black.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2006

This is a wonderful school. The staff is very concerned with the well-being of the 'whole' student. The programs offered after school such as the Mother/Father Read, Nutrition Club, and many others are fantastic. The arts are a large part of the school, just last year there was a school play for the first time, and numerous students participated and placed in the Reflections art contest. Come see why the kids and parents are so happy with this school! My son has been attending for 3 years now and loves the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students71%
Male students71%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students71%
Female students74%
Male students67%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students82%
Female students76%
Male students90%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students63%
Male students68%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students79%
Female students81%
Male students77%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students49%
Female students61%
Male students39%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English50%

English: Writing

All Students40%
Female students58%
Male students26%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students53%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English41%

Math

All Students65%
Female students75%
Male students56%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students64%
Female students68%
Male students61%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Chevese R. Thomas

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Sacramento Dr
Hampton, VA 23666
Phone: (757) 727-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT