Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phillips Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 420 students

Our school is best known for its quality and caring faculty and staff.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

Phillips is truly one of the best kept secrets of Hampton City Schools! My children have attended Phillips the past five years, K-4. The staff is very helpful, encouraging, and passionate about children and education! There are many opportunities for parent involvement and student activities. We could not have asked for a better school and elementary education experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

Phillips is a great school; I have two children there kindergarten and 5th grade. The principal is amazing as well as the secretary and other office staff; the teachers have been great they take the time to explain assignments and stay very much involved in the students well being and education this is something that you don t find regularly. I recommend this school to anyone living in the Hampton area, please keep up the great work oh and the state test exams speak for themselves . GO FALCONS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

My daughter has flourished at Phillips. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and she has had great teachers for three years in a row. I have seen the administrators go out of their way to help children and families time and time again. Another reviewer called Phillips the best-kept secret in Hampton, and I agree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

my grandsons attend this school - so I would like to give them all the help I can.


Posted April 23, 2010

What you will notice about Phillips students is that they are disciplined, respectful, and achievement driven. Ms Owens, the principal, and the teachers / staff are determined to promote academic excellence. The students thrive on the goals set for them in regard to academic challenges which in turn help them to progress in the areas of life-skills. The Phillips staff provides a wealth of ability and knowledge in the craft teaching and the students perform to the best of their ability using what they have learned. The bar of standards is set high at Phillips however the standards are attained, everyday! Everyday the children are given an opportunity to embrace their world and exhibit their knowledge. Phillips Elementary promotes early education students to the next level of education as students who accept the opportunity to show us what they are capable of inside the classroom and outside beyond the school boundaries!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

I am also very surprised by the negative reviews. We are also a military family, but I have always felt very welcomed by my son's teacher, principal, and office staff. I have been asked to volunteer a few times and have felt very appreciated for doing so. I agree that Principal Owens is outstanding. My son also enjoys PE, Art, Music, & Library- teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Phillips Elementary School is absolutely amazing. I have had two children in the school for the past three years grades K-2. The teachers are wonderful. They are kind, firm, and strive to see each student to their full academic potential. Principal Owens is by far the best prinicpal I have seen at any elementary school. The curriculum is great and my kids get up excited to attend school each day. The specials PE, Art, Music, & Library are just one of the many highlights of their day. I have met all of the teachers at this school and they are all fabulous. They are there because they love teaching and they adore the students at Phillips Elementary. I wouldn't choose to have my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Phillips is Hampton's best kept secret! The Teachers,Staff,students and parents are all wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I must say that I'm alarmed by the negative reviews that I've read. Our children have been attending Phillips since March 2007. We are also a military family and have had our share of experiences with several schools in different states. I am very pleased with all of the staff and how we were welcomed. I actively volunteer and I feel appreciated for doing so. My children are straight 'A' students and I feel that their educational needs are being met. Remember that our children's education is a cumulative process that includes our determined efforts at home as well as in the classroom. Overall I've found Phillips to be a warm and welcoming environment for my children as well as myself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

There is no organization in this school. Parents don't feel welcomed well I know my husband and I didn't. We are a military family and have been to several states with this being the fourth elementary school. This is the first year our children are attending and WILL be the last. Benchmarking, benchmarking, benchmarking, that is all you hear. A teacher told me outright that my child should learn money as it is going to be on the benchmark test and they will be working on it very hard UNTIL the test. What about after? there is no repetitiveness in the school work and I am very embarrassed to say my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

I am concerned with the amount of time children get for physical education, what happened to the presidential physical education awards, children here get one (30 min.) day for PE, 20 min for recess which can be withheld by the teachers. There are no sports in this school. Parents have been discouraged to volunteer in the school, I know of 14 willing parents some have authorized background checks at the principals request who are still not being allowed to help out or being welcomed. The PTA is not stressing parental involvement, what happened to field trips. There is too much pressure on testing, benchmark and sol. These children are not being allowed to express themselves or being given adequate dicipline. Teachers are managing dicipline problems and foregoing differential educational techniques because of the number of problem children. Being a first year parent, this public school has dissappointed me.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students79%
Male students73%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students70%
Female students61%
Male students79%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students84%
Female students82%
Male students85%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students65%
Male students79%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students84%
Female students81%
Male students86%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students79%
Male students74%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

English: Writing

All Students67%
Female students85%
Male students49%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students83%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black students87%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Math specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elizabeth Reynolds
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (757) 850-5622

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • VANS FROM PRIVATE DAYCARE CTRS
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • KHS-NJROTC
  • LOCAL CHURCHES
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • VERY INVOLVED IN ALL ASPECTS
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Syms Middle School
Jones Middle School
Eaton Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

703 Lemaster Dr
Hampton, VA 23669
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 850-5079

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT