Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phillips Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Thank you to Mrs. Sutton for always helping out the kids and families. She delivers food & clothes to my kids and other people out here. We see her in our neighborhood a lot. She really cares about the kids.

Phillips Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Phillips has a program where they recognize 6 students weekly as Falcons of the Week. Students who receive this recognition must demonstrate the Falcon values: respect, responsibility, and other great character education traits. They also make a Project Wisdom (Character Ed) announcement daily, and the professional school counselor also works on character education through her classroom lessons and group sessions.


Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Phillips has great teachers, students, parents, and administrators!!!! They have genuinely demonstrated that they love the kids.

Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Phillips is truly one of the best kept secrets of Hampton City Schools! My children have attended Phillips the past five years, K-4. The staff is very helpful, encouraging, and passionate about children and education! There are many opportunities for parent involvement and student activities. We could not have asked for a better school and elementary education experience!

Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
Phillips is a great school; I have two children there kindergarten and 5th grade. The principal is amazing as well as the secretary and other office staff; the teachers have been great they take the time to explain assignments and stay very much involved in the students well being and education this is something that you don t find regularly. I recommend this school to anyone living in the Hampton area, please keep up the great work oh and the state test exams speak for themselves . GO FALCONS!!!!


Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has flourished at Phillips. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and she has had great teachers for three years in a row. I have seen the administrators go out of their way to help children and families time and time again. Another reviewer called Phillips the best-kept secret in Hampton, and I agree!

Phillips Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
my grandsons attend this school - so I would like to give them all the help I can.

Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
What you will notice about Phillips students is that they are disciplined, respectful, and achievement driven. Ms Owens, the principal, and the teachers / staff are determined to promote academic excellence. The students thrive on the goals set for them in regard to academic challenges which in turn help them to progress in the areas of life-skills. The Phillips staff provides a wealth of ability and knowledge in the craft teaching and the students perform to the best of their ability using what they have learned. The bar of standards is set high at Phillips however the standards are attained, everyday! Everyday the children are given an opportunity to embrace their world and exhibit their knowledge. Phillips Elementary promotes early education students to the next level of education as students who accept the opportunity to show us what they are capable of inside the classroom and outside beyond the school boundaries!


Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2010
- a parent
I am also very surprised by the negative reviews. We are also a military family, but I have always felt very welcomed by my son's teacher, principal, and office staff. I have been asked to volunteer a few times and have felt very appreciated for doing so. I agree that Principal Owens is outstanding. My son also enjoys PE, Art, Music, & Library- teachers are great!

Phillips Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
Phillips Elementary School is absolutely amazing. I have had two children in the school for the past three years grades K-2. The teachers are wonderful. They are kind, firm, and strive to see each student to their full academic potential. Principal Owens is by far the best prinicpal I have seen at any elementary school. The curriculum is great and my kids get up excited to attend school each day. The specials PE, Art, Music, & Library are just one of the many highlights of their day. I have met all of the teachers at this school and they are all fabulous. They are there because they love teaching and they adore the students at Phillips Elementary. I wouldn't choose to have my children anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Phillips Elementary School
703 Lemaster Dr, Hampton, VA  23669
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (757) 850-5079
Last modified Phillips Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top