Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tucker-Capps Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
My son has been going to Tucker's Capps for the past two years (K-1st grade). His teachers for both of those year were EXCEPTIONAL. They take their time with the students and reward them accordingly while helping with behavior issues. Simply put, I 'LOVES' this school. If you have kids just starting out, this is the school for you!!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 1

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
The staff does not know how tell the honest truth. They will kick you off any club, or activity you do for the school for the most stupidest things like how they took my child off safety patrol for someone offering candy and she simply said '' yes ''! If your looking for a great experiment don't go to Tucker Capps!


Tucker-Capps Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. White was a wonderful teacher when my child attended her 1st grade class and I'd like to say thank you to her.

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended Tucker Capps from 2nd-5th grade and absolutely loved it!! The administration is awesome and the teachers have high expectations of their students. Behavioral problems appeared to be minimal and the school climate was motivating and caring. Great School!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
TC has been wonderful for our kids. We specifically wanted to send them to a magnet school and heard great things about TC from other parents. After getting custody, we discovered that our children were both significantly behind their peers academically and we were very concerned about how we could possibly catch them up. In just half a school year at TC, they both improved immensely and we are thrilled with the structure, rigor and quality of the education they are receiving at TC. Both children are now performing at the level of their peers. The teachers are consistent with their structured methods, and their communication with parents is fantastic - we never have to wonder how the children are performing. Both of our kids seem very happy and well-adjusted in their new school - a testament to the positive environment the school creates.


Tucker-Capps Elementary School 3

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
Tucker Capps may have been *great* at one time, but now it appears to not be the case. There are some teachers who are wonderful, but most act like they don't want to be there. The principal is extremely overbearing and passive aggresive. Be very careful around her, she will address you like one of the kids at the school. Also, teachers will single kids out and make their lives miserable. After talking with other parents, it seems to be rampant in the school. As long as you bow down to the principal and her staff you are ok, the moment you question anything they will target you and your child.

Tucker-Capps Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
This school has great teacher's and my child and other's learn alot, and there is alot of honor roll children! So that tells you alot!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
I LOVE TC! It is a wonderful school the staff and teachers are wonderful. They are dedicated and hardworking to make a safe learning environment for our children. We have a great parental involvement and the PTA is wonderful!


Tucker-Capps Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I LOVE TC! It is a wonderful school the staff and teachers are wonderful. They are dedicated and hardworking to make a safe learning environment for our children. We have a great parental involvement and the PTA is wonderful!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
Our daughter is in 1st Grade at Tucker Capps and we are thrilled with the structure that is established in the classes. This structure has allowed her to excel in the classroom and in other outside activities. I have always found the entire staff very helpful and they all make a point to learn the students names which makes them all feel valued and appreciated. The teachers are there for the children and do everything they can to help the children succeed.

Nearby schools

Tucker-Capps Elementary School
113 Wellington Dr, Hampton, VA  23666
(757) 825-4641
Last modified Tucker-Capps Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top