Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 362

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tucker-Capps Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended Tucker Capps from 2nd-5th grade and absolutely loved it!! The administration is awesome and the teachers have high expectations of their students. Behavioral problems appeared to be minimal and the school climate was motivating and caring. Great School!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
TC has been wonderful for our kids. We specifically wanted to send them to a magnet school and heard great things about TC from other parents. After getting custody, we discovered that our children were both significantly behind their peers academically and we were very concerned about how we could possibly catch them up. In just half a school year at TC, they both improved immensely and we are thrilled with the structure, rigor and quality of the education they are receiving at TC. Both children are now performing at the level of their peers. The teachers are consistent with their structured methods, and their communication with parents is fantastic - we never have to wonder how the children are performing. Both of our kids seem very happy and well-adjusted in their new school - a testament to the positive environment the school creates.


Tucker-Capps Elementary School 3

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
Tucker Capps may have been *great* at one time, but now it appears to not be the case. There are some teachers who are wonderful, but most act like they don't want to be there. The principal is extremely overbearing and passive aggresive. Be very careful around her, she will address you like one of the kids at the school. Also, teachers will single kids out and make their lives miserable. After talking with other parents, it seems to be rampant in the school. As long as you bow down to the principal and her staff you are ok, the moment you question anything they will target you and your child.

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
This school has great teacher's and my child and other's learn alot, and there is alot of honor roll children! So that tells you alot!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
I LOVE TC! It is a wonderful school the staff and teachers are wonderful. They are dedicated and hardworking to make a safe learning environment for our children. We have a great parental involvement and the PTA is wonderful!


Tucker-Capps Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I LOVE TC! It is a wonderful school the staff and teachers are wonderful. They are dedicated and hardworking to make a safe learning environment for our children. We have a great parental involvement and the PTA is wonderful!

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tucker-Capps Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tucker-Capps Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
Our daughter is in 1st Grade at Tucker Capps and we are thrilled with the structure that is established in the classes. This structure has allowed her to excel in the classroom and in other outside activities. I have always found the entire staff very helpful and they all make a point to learn the students names which makes them all feel valued and appreciated. The teachers are there for the children and do everything they can to help the children succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tucker-Capps Elementary School
113 Wellington Dr, Hampton, VA  23666
(757) 825-4641
Last modified Tucker-Capps Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tucker-Capps Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top