Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 4

Posted June 28, 2014
- a community member
I've been in Jones for 2 years now. It has a great education and has exceptional expectations for the students. However, the science department is very poor they just dont know how to teach. I loved my algerbra teacher, he helped turn my C- into A+ year round! The elective teachers are okay and the coaches seem like they could care less. I highly enjoyed language arts and history here. There are hardly any fights and is safer than most of the other middle schools as far as I'm concerned. I would reccomend that you bring a lunch than buy it here, if the foods not undercooked then its then it burnt or tastes fake :(. There are several options.for clubs including that they take NJHS here seriously. Overall I have enjoyed my experience here and I am excited to finish the 8th grade here! (Do not take art here though favoritism is often expressed to those more experienced ;)

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a community member
Fun my teachers are fun and help me with my work. I really like going to school here


Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
This school is great because as a parent I feel like I am welcome to be part of my child's education unlike some of the other schools

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My school is very on top of there game. I love the personal emails from the teachers letting the parents, me, know whats going on w/my son and homework expectations

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I am giving a poor rating...the administration does not know how to handle a child with disabilities. They frequently stated that my child was doing things to get attention and that he should be able to do things just like everyone else. Every child is different and you cannot expect them to all act alike. When requesting things be put in my child's 504 plan I was frequently told that they could not do what I was asking. Some of the teachers would not follow the 504 plan. There was one excellent teacher that made my child want to learn, Ms. Eileen Hedberg. I pulled him from the school and am so glad that I made the decision to pull him out. He is now in a school that is much more accommodating to his needs and more willing to work with myself and my child then Jones was.


Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Very dissatisified with the lack of willingness to work with children with disabilities and their families. There was no room for compromise. The was especially the case when it came to the administration. They seem to feel that at this school every child should act and do just like all of the others. No one child is alike. They did not want to make the accommodiations to my child's 504 that I was requesting even with the backing of a physician. There were teachers that were not following his 504 and when one teacher in particular was called out on it she made excuses as to why it was not followed. I am a very involved parent and will fight for my child rights to education. There was an exception at the school, one teacher understood, that was Eileen Hedburg. She was an exceptional teacher and took the extra time to help my child to make sure that everything was understood and wanted him to have a positive school experience. I am so glad that I decided to pull him out of the school and place him elsewhere.

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at Jones for the last 3 years and my experience couldn't have been any better. It's definitely the best middle school in Hampton. There are always a few kids that aren't very nice (Bullies) but that comes with any middle school. I'm glad I didn't go to Syms because most of the kids there are obnoxious.

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 3

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
I gave a lot of thought as to what middle school I wanted my rising six grader to attend. He really wanted the curriculum at a different school but I was warned about discipline issues there. When he got into Jones I was happy. He really likes his teachers but he has had issues with other students being mean and such. The administration has taken care of the situations as warranted.


Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 1

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
My daughter Is having trouble in classes and with other children being mean and all the Principal could say was it was her fault.

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School 5

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
This has been a great school for my son and he has had some wonderful teachers. The band program is excellent, the music teacher is a very dedicated and puts a lot of time into teaching and motivating the students. He also had a wonderfully dedicated math teacher who email me regularly, letting me know what they were working on.

Nearby schools

Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School
1819 Nickerson Blvd, Hampton, VA  23663
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (757) 850-7900
Last modified Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top