Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 368 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Henrico

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

This school has great diversity and the teachers are very involved in our children's care. We have two daughters who attend here. Though we are not Catholic, we are accepted as part of the Our Lady of Lourdes Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Our Lady of Lourdes remains the best choice for our family and children: a Catholic based education that meets the needs of our Baptist family. There are many different faiths enrolled at OLL and an open discussion of all beliefs is encouraged. Our children have learned more about Jewish and Catholic faith than I could ever begin to teach them. OLL offers all levels of education and excels at advanced preparation for HS and beyond. My current 7th graders have already earned (and tested) for credit in TWO courses. OLL and its teachers recognize each child is different; my set of twins are individualized in every way. One is highly artistic -- the work and projects reflect so. The other is more analytical and structured, and his notes and projects reflect such also. The administration is open yet firm; structured but not stuck in the past. The school constantly assesses its offerings, staff, curriculum, testing, and programs--OLL doesn't rest on its laurels! A blue ribbon school, Our Lady of Lourdes is definitely a great education at a great value!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My oldest child enters his 5th year at the school, my youngest her third. First and foremost, OOL teaches the heart: mutual respect, dignity, stewardship, value of diversity, responsibility, accountability, and empathy. The older students also mentor the younger as "Prayer Buddies" within weekly mass. This school is a second family to our children as well as my husband and I. The 2010-11 year was the first for a new band/music program offered to students, and being no stranger to band programs, I was amazed at how truly wonderful the program turned out. It was designed not to interfere with the curriculum of any one class, and provided 2 concerts over the year. The before and after school program is structured with homework time as well as play time, arts, crafts, games. I do not understand others previous comments on the curriculum, as my son's class started the 6th grade math book halfway through 5th grade. The school does not tolerate disruption of the learning environment on a repeated basis, nor inadequacy of it's teaching staff. I have seen both situations occur on a rare basis, and they were dealt with fairly and swiftly. I cannot imagine our life without OOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My twins are current students of this school. 2009/2010 was their first year & they'll be back for next year (5th grade). Admittedly, the facilities are older and the lunch program could be healthier....BUT....he strong spiritual program, sense of love and respect, and joy my kids have learning and discussing God and His world far outweigh the minor items mentioned. The academics are about at the level of advance programs in most public school but with much smaller classes and more passion from the teachers. Communication is TOP NOTCH from admin & teachers. Art & Library resources are INCREDIBLE! My boys are looking forward to the sports programs next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

My Daughter is a student of this school from past 3 yrs. We are very pleased with their middle school curriculam. Teachers are very hardworking and helpful. I will rate this school as an excellent of all the private schools in richmond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

I am a old student who graduated in 2008. I attended that school for 6 years. It made the biggest impact on my life. The teachers, staff, students and everyone was very nice and caring. This school started my life's foundation as a follower in Christ. It not only started my foundation of God, but over the years, it was built up and made stronger. I believe that the foundation I had then has only built stronger as I attempt to continue on the path of helping those in need, and succeeding to the best of my ability. It helped me obtain a personality that allows me to get along with almost anyone. It gave me a lot of good memories that I can look back on. The school is very welcoming and everyone is like a big family there! I will never forget it. It offered great opportunities and experiences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

My child was a student of this school for five years. The facilities are old, there is no cafeteria or gym, no strings/music, and there is little offered in sports/clubs. The school has a very strong spiritual program, sense of closeness/attention to care, and they consistently teach respect that is lacking in public schools. However, the academics are at the same level including advance programs as most public school systems in the area. I kept my son there because of the attention/care and spiritual program. Given the economy, one would have to contemplate whether it is truly worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

This school is Wonderful! The teachers are the Best and the students are very well behaved. If we get the opportunity to stay in the Henrico area she will be attending til her 8th grade year. I can say enough about this school! It was the perfect choice for our daughter. She will be in 1st grade next year (her second year there).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

Both my kids attended Our Lady of Lourdes. My daughter attended from K-2 and my son from K-6. My husband and I decided to let them experience public school, since the schools located in our area are good schools. Well, my daughter is doing well in public school, but my son is having a difficult time adjusting. His public school is not structured enough and it's too over whelming for him. He likes OLL because it is smaller and he knew everyone that went to the school. He misses the closeness that he experienced at OLL. Plus his grades slipped and his attitude changed for the worst. The public school culture is just to relaxed for my son. My husband and I have decided to send him back next year to let him graduate with his friends. We also missed the closeness and the Christian experience at OLL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My son switched over to Our Lady of Lourdes from public school and what a difference it has made! He is a shy child who had trouble finding himself in the crowds of kids in public school. Upon his first days at the school, what impressed both of us the most was the friendliness of both teachers and students. He has made friends and feels more a part of things than ever before. The availability of team sports and competition has also allowed him to thrive. No child is cut from a team and is allowed to learn and compete. There are all kinds of activities and events in which to participate and parents are always involved. We think it is a wonderful school and only regret that he has to leave after this year to attend high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

My son graduated from Lourdes. He attended the school for 10 years starting with Pre-k. My grandchildren now attend. OLL offers a top notch education. The principal knows every child by name. The children are treated with love and respect. They are taught good old fashioned Christian values and morals. The children are encouraged to develop their talents and work to their full potential. My youngest son graduated in 2002. He was able to start high school with a credit in Spanish and in Algebra. He is smart, but he is also an ADHD kid. The teachers were patient and worked with him. He is now an honor student at Benedictine High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Richmond
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8250 Woodman Road
Henrico, VA 23228
Phone: (804) 262-1770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Moody Middle School
Richmond, VA





Dooley School
Richmond, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT