Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Collegiate School

Private | K-12 | 1595 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Henrico

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Collegiate School was ranked the 17th best school in the country. My children are in 4th and 6th grade and it is an amazing school. I am amazed at what they have learned compared to where I was at their age in public school. Many of the families are very wealthy, but mainly good people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

Currently going through the process of selecting a private school for my daughter. I was not impressed with the administration during the enrollment process and the lack of diversity in the students and staff is very shocking. In addition, if I wanted 23 kids in my daughters class with a part-time assistant, why would I pay private school tutu in when I can get that at public school. When asked how they give all the kids the individual attention that I will be paying for, the schools response was "we try as best we can". That is simply not good enough for me, so we will be looking at St. Catherines. Classes are capped at 16 in k and only 4 sections, not 7 + they have a full time assistant in every kindergarten classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

My daughter has attended since K she is an up coming 5th grader,my wife is Very involved at school ,we looked at St Cat and Steward..after 5 years we have no doubt we made the right choice for OUR daughter ..Collegiate is first class all the way..I am impressed with the kids I meet and observe. And grads I have known thru the years...I am equally impressed with the involvement of the parents, I have made friends with many and there are some truly nice people there...We feel our daughter along with 'our guidance'will be well prepared for life...Proud parent..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

Collegiate is one of the better private schools that I have seen in Richmond and the Tri-Cities. I have known many students that went to this school from K-12 grades. All of the students that currently or formerly attended Collegiate School have been able to make it into the eight private institutions of higher learning (The Ivy League) with the strict education that is taught to the students, and with the guidance of helping them to understand for themselves what school and future major would work for them. I knew of a student who had a particular high school English teacher, M Norman-Risch, (may not still be there) and she said she would challenge the students with work to make them excel, as well as to make them work harder so that they would ask questions wanting to dig deeper to learn more so that they would challenge their brains to it's fullest potential. The athletics are well rounded in all aspects with basketball, baseball, football, lacrosse, wrestling. I believe, even crew. As far as cliques go, you see that in private schools as well as public ones. I attended both private and public educational schools. Collegiate School is a very good private school to attend.


Posted July 1, 2011

I attended this school in the 80s and I do not know if things have changed since then, but at the time it was very cliquish and quite a few students were spoiled brats. If you did not have the right "pedigree", (upper class family, conformist, West End resident), you were shunned, if not overtly put down, by the students. The faculty was great, but some teachers got away with more than others. It does provide a great education, but some of the students were beyond spoiled.


Posted February 7, 2011

Our experience with Collegiate School is outstanding. Teachers are so caring, facilities are great. Students and parents are informed about every thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

The only thing I would add to this school is teachers who have more practice at teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Since we have been at Collegate, there is almost nothing negative I could say about it- The facilities are great, the academics are out of this world, but the people are really what make the difference. The teachers are just outstanding, and really care about the students. It really feels like a team effort, and so far, my first grader couldn't be happier, more well adjusted, or more engaged. It really is beyond anything we could have hoped for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

Collegiate Middle School was a great school for my daughter. There is a significant emphasis on teaching students to be kind and civil to all classmates. That was one of the most impressive things I can say about the school as a minority parent. Ugliness to other students is not tolerated. The school is also fairly good at tracking. However, if you are coming from a public school, watch this. There is kind of an assumption that if your child is Honors at a public school, they won't be Honors at Collegiate. My daughter had to prove herself . Her teacher was surprised that she 'wasn't breaking a sweat' in her original class placement. In any event, my daughter successfully went on to a public I.B. program in high school and has been very successful ever since.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

Our Daughter has attended grades 6 and 7 at Collegiate. She has had a wonderful experience both academically and socially. We think the world of the school. It is absolutely a world class school academically and provides great extracurricular activities as well. Our daughter is very bright and was quite introverted when she started. She has really come out of her shell. The teachers and administration do a great job of making new students feel welcome and fit in. The school does have its share of cliques but they seem to be able to keep things under control.Character and respect are high priorities and I have never met so many polite children as I have on that campus. They set the bar very high in every way and exceed everyones expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

My daughter is a student at Collegiate and I am very pleased with the educational program. Collegiate is a wonderful school! The academic program is outstanding, as are the teachers. We are blessed to be part of Collegiate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

It is a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2003

Collegiate is regarded as the top co-educational private school in the Richmond area. The Collegiate School lives up to this reputation. As a college preparatory school, Collegiate prepares students academically to attend the top universities in the country while developing students social and athletic abilities. Students at Collegiate are generally well-rounded and bright. Collegiate prepared me to attend one of the top 10 liberal arts colleges and one of the top 20 law schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

103 North Mooreland Road
Henrico, VA 23229
Phone: (804) 740-7077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT