Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
593 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joseph Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The school has a very hands offs approach to education. If your child is a middle of the road academically they will be okay at this school. I had 2 nephews that attended and were top students and were not getting challenged. They transferred to a gifted school after a few years. My daughter was fine academically (top half of her class) but we were told she was too immature for her age so they wanted to retain her. We were never aware that she was a risk of retention till AFTER we placed a deposit for our spot next year. Her report cards had comments that her maturity level is being monitored but no goals or specific request were made. I asked what happens if she goes through a maturity spurt over the summer. Next year she will be bored. The teacher said that in all her years of teaching that never happened. Then I said that every education study out there says that retention is not a good option and that intense intervention is the proper thing to do. The teacher said she read those studies but disagreed. Well a month later we were told she was going to be unconditionally promoted. We ended up withdrawing her and enrolling in a smaller school. I just checked the roster at the start of school and there are 5 spots open in her class. I guess they decided she was mature enough when they found out they didnt have a full class to pay tuition! The new school we enrolled my daughter in had a similar promotion/retention policy BUT the major difference is that had another page that specifically goes over how struggling students are addressed early and an intervention program is listed out for the parents and teacher. Teachers at the new school seem much more interested in helping all the kids to the next level and not just getting through a learning plan. On a good note, they do have some nice after school activities for kids.

St Joseph Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Not all teachers are created equal. In fact before we withdrew our child, we were told by other parents which teachers to avoid and which to request. Ive worked in management for over 12 years and the goal was to never have employees that if we looked on the schedule we would be worried about how the day went.


St Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has two years at this school , she loves it ! The teacher from kindergaten was amazing ! My daughter didn't know how to grip even the pencil and at the end of the school year she learned to write sentences , it was amazing ! . The teacher is always suggesting the kids to talk with different kids each day so they can get to know and be friends with everyone in the classroom .my daughter has grow academically and morally. I'm always praying this continue through the years .

St Joseph Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are excellent. My daughter has grow so much , you won't believe it !

St Joseph Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The teacher really care about the students development , they are in constant fighting of progress for the kids


St Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
This is my son third year at St. Joseph School. His teachers have made a significant impact on our son. We are so pleased to see our Catholic faith demonstrated daily by the faculty and staff. In addition, his reading, science, and math skills are extremely improved. We find him accelerating the important math and science skills. We heard all good things about the STEM program and can't wait for him to join. We feel fortunate and are sure we made the right decision to send our son to St. Joseph School. This is a great school and we would recommend it to anyone considering a quality education for their children.

St Joseph Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
This school definitely develops compassion, caring and empathy in its students. The teachers and staff are very friendly and caring. They pay very close attention to their students and encourage them to do their very best. Our son loves his teachers and friends and can't wait to begin another school year at St. Joseph School.

St Joseph Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
This is my son third year at St. Joseph School. His teachers have made a significant impact on our son. We are so pleased to see our Catholic faith demonstrated daily by the faculty and staff. In addition, his reading, science, and math skills are extremely improved. We find him accelerating the important math and science skills. We heard all good things about the STEM program and can't wait for him to join. We feel fortunate and are sure we made the right decision to send our son to St. Joseph School. This is a great school and we would recommend it to anyone considering a quality education for their children.


St Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
This is my son second year at St. Joseph School. He loves his friends and teachers. My son has growth greatly in both Christianly and Academically. He started with no reading skills and was able to read chapter books when he finished Kindergarten. I have volunteered on several occasions and the students are very well behave and respectful. I talked to many parents and none of them have heard or seen bully at this school. The principal, teachers, and staff are very experience, educated, and professional, and most importantly, they care for our children. We are confident and have faith in the teachers. I strongly believe that my son will receive the best education he could get here at St. Joseph School. A Parent

St Joseph Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
This school is just awful. My child attended it all 9 years (95-04) and he just hated all their rules and regulations. Teachers very unintelligent and cannot see the constant bad behavior going on. Child does not have good relation with the teachers and never wants to see that school again now that its over with. I personally enjoy the experience with the teachers, though the principal was very rude and inconsiderate to my opinions. One of my main concerns is the pink concerns the band students have to wear when they go on their field trips. The boys complain and complain and another parent i met recently told me they still continue to do it. I greatly regret this decision and hope this review helps.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph Elementary School
750 Peachtree Street, Herndon, VA  20170
(703) 880-4315
Last modified St Joseph Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Joseph Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top