Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Embassy School

Private | PK-1 | 90 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Herndon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $470,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2008

My daughter went there from the time she was 2.5 years until the third grade. She loved it and made many friends. The teachers were fantastic! My daughter was tested and when she transfered to another school she was doing 5th and 6th grade work in the 3rd grade - how is that for the schools teaching ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I pulled my 3 year old out after 3 weeks! He is an outgoing child, who cried every morning when I left, and ran off the playground as soon as I got there to pick him up. There was no supervision, he came home filthy, sometimes wearing other children's clothes, was allowed to draw with marker all over himself and his stuffed animal. There was never an orientation for the new children. I too, had issues with the Director, and felt that there was nothing done about the initial complaints I filed about the lack of supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My child has attended this school since age 3. My child absolutely loves it. The school is small, which is great. The class sizes are wonderful. I believe that having small classes really helps my child excel. The teachers are all very dedicated and wonderful. I'm quite baffled on earlier comments about the director, I can't imagine that they are in reference to the current director. The current director has done a fantastic job. She's very friendly, and gets things done. She has made some small improvements that have made a big difference. I absolutely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

It is a great school with loving and well prepared staff. The new director is friendly and professional. My daughter attented the kindergarten program there. And she loved it there. The academic program is wonderful and highly up to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

My 5 year old loves school nad her teachers. But the playground needs to be more properly fenced so that kids do not go into the parking lot. I have spoken to the Director about this 3 months back but have not seen her oding anything about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

Embassy offers an affordable tuition, enrichment programs and high quality instruction. My son, 4 has been attending since June 2006 and enjoys it very much. I like the current director a great deal. She is very responsive and answers all of my questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

My 4 year old son is in this school for 2 years but the teachers are great. the teachers are outstanding. The earlier director was more receptive and forthcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

My 3 1/2 year old son started at the Embassy School in September and he is doing very well. The teachers are wonderful, the extra curricular activities are great and he is learning so much. Transitioning into a 5 day program was difficult and the teachers and staff really helped to make it easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

Great school with caring and warm teaching faculty. But Director is the opposite and non receptive to parents needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

I have a 5 year old who has been attending this school for the past 2 years and we are very happy with the teachers but the new Director is very bossy. But otherwise the other staff is very friendly and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

My daughter attended the beginners program and found that the teacher was only tearing pages for them to work on when calls started and as a result she is doing that at home. The school is very badly maintained and the new Directore is very bossy and not at all recpetive to parents concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

I had gone to see the school for my 4 year old daughter and the director was so rude and dominating in the way she replied to my concerns that I was shocked and got my daughter admitted to another school across the street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

My 3 year son has started attending the program and he just loves his teacher who is very patient and tolerant. The other kids in the class are also happy with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

Run down facility. School is not maintained well and some teachers are rude. My son ran away upto the main road and then someone passing by rescued him and got him back to the school. This was due to the inattentive teacher present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

This is a really good school with high academic standards and lots of extra activities. Director is very responsive to parents inquiries/requests. Teacher to students ratio is optimal, and the school offers a very friendly environment to all the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Academic programs are the best we've found anywhere. Classroom ratio is excellent. There are a variety of extracurricular activities offered. Parent involvement is encouraged but not required. Director is always available to speak with parents without an appointment and is responsive to our concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

The beginners program does not have capable teachers and teachers are allowed to let their kids be in the same class as them , a fact which is not made known to parents at the time of admission. Director is highly incapable and needs to interact more with parents and accept their views more objectively. Quality of academic program is not upto the mark. Extracurricular activites is very few and the concept of parent involvement is discouraged as teachers are getting insecure.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 9, 2006

Bad management. Kids playgrounds not properly fenced. Director is very easy going and not focussed on doing her job of interacting with parents where necessary and beats around the bush.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 14, 2006

It is a wonderful school. Teachers are very kind and loving, and children are very well-behaved. Children are very advanced and love to be at school. Excellent extracurricular activities offered, including science, dance, and computers. My child also loves spanish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

Staff turns over frequently. Staff morale seems low. Some of the Teachers seem to be under educated for their position. Some of the Teachers do not follow lesson plans. Some of the Teachers skip around or forget about lessons and when asked, they immediately step up (where they should be), but the children are lost without the basics and they go back to same pattern. Poor organization and supervision by the director and assistant director.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3013 W Ox Rd
Herndon, VA 20171
Phone: (703) 476-8667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Reston Day School
Herndon, VA





Al Fatih Academy
Reston, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT