Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Herndon High School

Public | 9-12 | 2266 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

I have had 3 graduate from Herndon High school. The teachers and staff were always helpful and available if my kids needed extra help. Our boys both played lacrosse and our daughter played volleyball and was in choir. The choir department at HHS is one of the best in the county. The other parents are supportive and helpful with volunteering for sports events or choir events. Everyone works together well. Our children have all gone to VA colleges with 2 graduating this year. I highly recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2011

My son came to HHS after attending private school for a number of years. He has found the teachers to be engaged, the work to be challenging and the students to be friendly. He is extremely happy that he chose Herndon for his high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Herndon High is a wonderful school. Excellent and caring staff. According to Newsweek Herndon High ranked 152. Herndon has a great AP/Honors program. It is such a diverse school. My child really loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love Herndon High School because the teachers make it a fun, friendly enviroment. They always find a fun innovative way to teach their assigned subject. Herndon provides a very safe diverse learning enviroment. They offer a wide varity of clubs and teams. Everything from the expected football team to the amazing but almost never heard or robotics team. I just love Herndon High and all the people who make it such an amazing place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

My daughter transferred from a private school and we have been VERY pleased with the strong sense of community and the enthusiasm of the teachers. There is something at this school for everyone. The kids that we know are very involved. The number of students that they sent to the University of Virginia last year (very competitive) is testament to what a great job they are doing at HHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

If you are a minority I would suggest you find another school. Herndon High was the worst school I have ever attended. When I was going to the school, I felt that I was targeted by the staff as a bad apple just because of my skin. Maybe if I was not a student of color I might have had a different experience. I feel as though this school has to fill some kind of quota that is the reason they treat the students as so. Unless you were an AP or honor student, you didn't matter. There was a lack of care from most of the teachers. Had I not gone to schools in other states, I might not have gone to college if my decision was base on my experience of Herndon High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Wow. Everyone I know is so pleased with the calibre of the instruction at HHS. The teachers are really wonderful--running interesting discusions, getting students involved, being available if kids need help...they are just great. The kids are really good kids too. It's a diverse school, yet it's clear when you visit that the kids just accept each other. Generally, the students are really decent and respectful to one another. This may be due to the model set by the teachers and administration. The parents involvement is also wonderful. You'll find no 'cliques' keeping you from getting involved. All the parents are just there to help support the school and make it the best it can be. It's a lot of fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

Compared to the friends and family living in other states, HHS is a wonderful school. In my time there, I never witnessed a fight or gang incident. I felt quite safe as I walked the hallways. School spirit was demonstrated in the many pep ralies, SGA events, and participation in extracurricular sports. The teachers and staff were on the most part prepared for classes and supportive of learning. Every school has its faults, but I feel prepared for college and am glad I went to HHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

I am a current junior at Herndon and I can say that in the overall it is not a bad school. Yes, it has its problems, however those problems are outweighed by the benefits it renders. The school in general, but with a particular focus on the class of 2009, has almost no school spirit. Its AP programs are among the best in the country with dedicated teachers who are very willing to help students. (The trick to being sucessful in APs is to take the sophmore block class; the teachers in that particular class are two of the best in the school and really prepare their students for the next level of APs.) As for the gangs: they really aren't that big a problem; the worst they do is occasionally scrawl their names on to the stalls in the bathroom. However, there is minimal open intimidation of students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

HHS is a great school to receive a wonderful education from. Half the parents posting on this website with negative things to say probably do not even have a high school degree of there own. Both of my sisters and I have graduated from there and all go to wonderful universities. I graduated in the top five of my class with a GPA of 4.07 with all honors and AP classes. I now attend Georgetown University and I feel HHS has done a wonderful job at preparing me for my future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2008

Bad school. Counselor dont do anything to help average kids. all the average kids are thrown in stinky NOVA. School is only good to AP or honor kids, Case point my predicament. I am a layabout. because of the school. I have no prospects. There is nothing in my future.


Posted January 17, 2008

We have a Junior at Herndon High School and we are extremely pleased with the school. The teachers are excellent and very involved . The environment is diverse and complements the wonderful community of Herndon. There is strong parental involvement and a great feeling of school spirit from the annual parade to the football games, etc.. Very pleased!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Coming from a parent of 2 former HHS graduates and one current 9th grader. HHS is a great school. It has an excellent diverse student and teacher population. Teachers who genually care about teaching and not just passing SOLs, excellent administration. My kids ranged from all academic spectrums, AP, general and LD -- each child excelled and continues to excel both academically and socially. Thank you Herndon High School and Mrs. Leslie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

We are finally out of there. I have had two graduate and have pulled the remaining two students out. My AP honors students are struggling with 'basics' and the workload at another FFX County school in the IB program. We left because the %age of teachers who are passionate are dwindling quickly. Many are not available for extra help.The drug problem is huge. The Principal and AD have turned a cheek. The gangs are prevalent and obvioius. Thank God we got out when we could. Mine are in a better place, with a rigorous curriculum, school spirit and the gangs are not parading around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

I am the parent of a current HHS student, a HHS graduate, and a future HHS student and am very, very pleased with the school. My college student was very well-prepared for higher education as a result of his HHS experience. For the most part, he had very good, caring teachers. He took a sufficient amount of honors and AP courses (but not too many, and the number of such courses offered by the school is impressive. Parents should be careful not to believe the ridiculous rumors that seem to circulate about HHS. There is a wonderful spirit of community at Herndon that you don't find at many FCPS schools. Of course, HHS has its issues as does every school in the County. However, overall, Herndon is a great place to go to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

Herndon High is a wonderful school full of caring staff. The environment is diverse and provides students with an opportunity to see what the real world is all about. Security is of utmost importance and students do not feel threatened. Students of all levels (AP, LD, and yes, the regular student) can succeed at Herndon. Parents and community members are encouraged and welcomed to become involved in decision making. This is one of those schools who exceeds at all levels - academically, athletically, and beyond. Students at Herndon do not fit in a cookie-cutter mold. They understand diversity, appreciate diversity, and embrace diversity. Herndon HS is a winning school at all levels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

Herndon is a very diverse school with many differant activites for the children. In terms of academics my child was able to excel in classes. Many AP classes are offered and my daughter has taken may honors classes and 6 of the many AP's. Choices of extracurricular activites are plenty. There are many ' groups' at Herndon for that fact that it is so diverse which helps my child learn appreciate and respect many people from differant walks of life. HHS largely run by parent volunteers, from sproting events to school functions. Herndon is not perfect and does have it's problems but with it's diversity and curriculum I am satisfied to send my daughter to Herndon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

We are moving out of HHS. I have 2 that have graduated from the school, with 2 left. The school has gone down hill quickly in the last 4 years in terms of school spirit and safety. when an incident occurs, the administration doesn't call the police. Hence the statistics are not indicative on what really goes on. There are many dedicated teachers, coaches and support staff. If your student is in honors or AP, they will be fine. If your student is average, or needs extra help, it is a disruptive learning environment in 9th and 10th grade. At least once a week, security is called to my daughters PE class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

When I think of the lowest common denominater, I think of HHS. Never have a seen a learning institution so encourage mediocrity, do so little to help and/or stimulate the more gifted student population, and do nothing to promote the idea of attending a top-tier college. HHS is the Detroit of the Fairfax County Public Schools, and action needs to be taken to provide the students with safe hallways and meaningful educations.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 15, 2005

This school is HIGHLY dangerous both to your kids' safety and education. There are fights everyday and teachers just stand and watch. It is much more worse than many people think. If you went there you would know what I am talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

505 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

539 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

549 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

520 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
Female students66%
Male students56%
Black students69%
Asian students73%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English73%

Algebra II

All Students81%
Female students83%
Male students80%
Black students68%
Asian students81%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial74%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English84%

Biology

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black students75%
Asian students84%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial88%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English93%

Chemistry

All Students74%
Female students73%
Male students75%
Black students57%
Asian students78%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial75%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English81%

Earth Science

All Students88%
Female students89%
Male students88%
Black students81%
Asian students77%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English91%

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students93%
Male students90%
Black students90%
Asian students91%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial85%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English96%

English: Writing

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students91%
Black students90%
Asian students93%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial96%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English96%

Geometry

All Students83%
Female students87%
Male students80%
Black students68%
Asian students83%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial92%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English89%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students84%
Female students81%
Male students88%
Black students77%
Asian students84%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial87%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English90%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students90%
Female students90%
Male students90%
Black students88%
Asian students96%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial96%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English96%

World History II

All Students89%
Female students84%
Male students94%
Black students86%
Asian students94%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Willliam L. Bates

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Bennett St
Herndon, VA 20170
Phone: (703) 810-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT