Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Mill Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 627 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Fox Mill Elementary is a top notch school on the border of one of the busiest cities in the country. It has hard working, positive minded, dedicated staff and administration. The students hail from a family centered community along with others pulled from across the county to participate in it's renowned Japanese Immersion program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Fox Mill Elementary is a fabulous school with involved parents, caring teachers, and a proactive administration. The active PTA hosts many fun and creative fundraising activities through the year including The Son Challenge, Daughter Dance, Bingo night, and even a big Matsuri, Japanese festival. Our teachers go the distance. I went in last week for a parent-teacher conference and was really impressed how prepared the teachers were to talk with me and how well they understood my child. They are also involved outside of school hours - my sons teacher spent a Saturday afternoon with her students so they could sing at a Cherry Blossom festival and also volunteers with a running club after school. The Principal is great too - a group of parents suggested starting a cultural exchange school in Japan and our Principal has been out-in-front making every effort to get this going!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

This is a great school with a wonderful supportive community. Your children will receive a great education at this school, whether you choose the Japanese Immersion program or the general track. Great teachers, strong principals and a caring community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

The best asset of Fox Mill is its community... from dedicated staff and teachers to parent volunteers. Although the school building is old, when entering the school, you can immediately tell that it is well maintained and a reflection of the engaged student body. The principal and teachers are always working to engage students in actual learning and exploration that goes beyond just memorizing facts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Great new principal who is bringing in fresh ideas. Dedicated staff. Very engaged parent volunteers who provide so many opportunities for students, both academic and social.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Fox Mill is a great school... it's a warm, fun, safe atmosphere for the kids to learn. Lots of great opportunities to get involved in the classroom and the PTA, which has a great relationship with the school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

My kids love it... lots of great teachers and lots of parent involvement. They loving seeing me and other adults in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Amazing Japanese Immersion program. My kids get to learn another language at the same time as they learn math and science. Unique and very worthwhile program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

Fox mill is an amazing/brilliant school. My son is slightly hyperactive and needed structure and routine. Since starting at Foxmill his attention span, focus, attitude and all around behaviour is so much improved. The kindergarten teachers have been very communicative about my sons performance at every stage in the school. They are very creative and always kept the kindergarten fun and engaging. I owe a lot of thanks to the kindergarten teachers. My son has completely settled and is developing great. Thank you for bringing out confidence in my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

They preach "academic rigor"...but do little to impress with teaching style. If your child's learning style differs from a teachers teaching style, you could be in for a LONG year. Not sure the teacher can, or has attempted to engage our daughters learning style, or many others in the class. We have had similar discussions of difficultly from other parents from the classroom. Biggest issue though it our child has apparently been "recommended" to the School Counselor for lack of focus (5 yr old)...We have yet to hear from ANYONE in the school about it...Our 5 yr old told us. WE asked the teacher (instead of being called or emailed), and we were told the counselor "is supposed to contact you". Been waiting for over a month. Far too much focus on the "Japanese Immersion program" from the administration with very little if any focus on the American Education program. They preach about how great the Japanese Immersion Program is...What about those students not in the Japanese Immersion program? So what I guess? Too bad so sad? Thats how we feel. We are thinking about sending our son to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

We love the Japanese immersion program and my kids really like school. Most of the kids that attend Fox Mill are high achievers and generally do pretty well academically. I'm not sure this would be the best school for kids that struggle with minor disabilities and difficulty learning, but it's perfect for parents who want their kids in a more rigorously academic environment. We've had very caring and competent teachers with the exception of one that was unusually strict. The expectations were a little too high with her, but the rest balance learning with warmth, understanding, and support really well and the amount of parent involvement is impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I chose this school last year and I was not wrong. We came from another country, with another language and my daughter started classes in January with no problems. The principal, the teachers, and the whole administrative staff were very kind. The whole enviroment, children, parents, neighbourhood is very friendly. I didn't see any kind of bullying between children. My daughter is very happy with all her new friends and I am very happy with all the things she is learning in the Advance Mathematics Course this year. I definitively recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

The new principle is amazing and so are the vast majority of teachers. Excellent school, great community. I can't say enough wonderful things. I feel very fortunate that my children are in such a happy environment when I drop them off each day. I don't know a single parent who doesn't love this school as much as I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

BE WARNED! My child has attended Fox Mill for the last 3 years and now that we're FINALLY moving away she may regain some love of school again. I'm a certified teacher and spent months looking at schools and test scores because my daughter is ADHD and testing above grade level so I was looking for a school to nurture her. In 1st her teacher had to leave due to a personal tragedy. A NON-CERTIFIED sub took over the class and for 5 months my daughter was ignored. He sent inappropriate notes home on her work and admitted that "she was too much trouble and just had to let her sit". (Yes I am quoting exactly what he said in front of an entire IEP team which included counselors, principal etc.) No one blinked an eye about his comment. He also REFUSED to send work home for me to help her. 2 years later she struggles with gaps in her learning from 1st grade, hates school and tests well below grade level. The teachers daily try to help her but he allowed behaviors that year that have become learned and she has no motivation to unlearn them. 4 other kids that year were held back and I should have never trusted them when they she would get the extra help to catch up. JUST BE CAREFUL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

FAIRFAX TEST SCORES ARE SO ONLY HIGH because they teach to the test. That is illegal. The idea of SOL testing is to see if students are really retaining what they learn. My child came home the beginning of 3rd grade worried about SOL tests. Then SOL Study packets and websites were being assigned. NOW I know why Fairfax looks so good on paper. If we ever move back to the DC area I'll avoid FAIRFAX County public schools. If kids can't remember or use what they learn from school throughout the year and years to come the school IS NOT DOING it's job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

Fox Mill is a very good school. It provides a very nurturing environment for the kids. It has a unique Japanese immersion program. Overall the principle, teachers, administration make it a positive learning experience for the kids. The negative point about the school is that there are not many competitive programs available. Neighbouring schools have MathCount, spelling bee, geography bee, Lego league, STEM etc. In Fox mill, you have Odyssey of the mind and likewise. If you like a small school and a very safe, nurturing environment for kids to excel, then Fox Mill is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

FME is a fantastic school with incredible staff of teachers. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure students excel. This is a great community of caring parents and teachers. I wouldn't put my kids anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My child transferred to Fox Mill Elementary in the height of a divorce. He had a very tough time emotionally adjusting to our new life. Fox Mill teachers and staff went out of their way to make my child feel secure and stable. They hand picked his teachers, provided couseling and the Vice Principal even became hands-on, spending time with my son. I cannot say enough about the care and guidance my child recieved. He is now a happy, well-adjusted child, excelling in his classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

If you have a child with high functioning autism, this school is not for your child. They are not prepared to adequately cover your child's needs. School staff, teachers and administrators are completely ignorant of high functioning autism nature and needs. Therefore, in this school your child will suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

This is a good school for most children. They need more resources for special needs children but they do try very hard to meet the demands of high achieving parents and their children .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial89%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students84%
Female students82%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial72%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students94%
Female students96%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students95%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial65%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial94%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students88%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students89%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students87%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students99%
Female students97%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Math

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2611 Viking Dr
Herndon, VA 20171
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 262-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al Fatih Academy
Reston, VA


The Embassy School
Herndon, VA


Reston Day School
Herndon, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT