Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dranesville Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Andrew teacher is great for 3 grade and great with the students I think she's wonderful

Dranesville Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
For now my 3 grader as enough homework sometimes the reading is a lot but other then that it great


Dranesville Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Because dranesville has a great way showing honesty and fairness and everything in students and family I love it

Dranesville Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I really like dranesville because it's a great school and I have a 3grader and the staff and family are so wonderful I am so happy there. And I enjoy our son teacher this year for 3 grade

Dranesville Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
As I review some of the negative comments, I find myself laughing out loud3. I wonder how much time these people, who have so much to complain about, actually spend at the school. I am at Dranesville daily, and volunteer weekly. I have worked for FCPS for many years, spent time in many elementary schools, and wouldn't send my children anywhere, except Dranesville. I am very impressed with Ms. Manoatl's involvement. I visit schools where principals spend most of their time in their office with the door closed. Ms. Manoatl is always visible as well as an active participant in every aspect of the school day, and the myriad of after school activities. Further, Ms. Manoatl doesn't tolerate incompetence; she sets the bar high for herself; she sets the bar high for all of her staff. And unlike many other administrators in the county, she is quick to identify, and get rid of, ineffective teachers. In regards to previous comments made about the numerous non-English speaking students, and not enough staff to support English Language Learners, research shows full immersion is the fastest, and most effective way for children to acquire a new language.


Dranesville Elementary School 3

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
The school is very united they do a lot of great activities great team spirit. The teachers are friendly nice and very involved. I'll three of my children love to go to school each day.

Dranesville Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Two of my 3 children have gone through this school and the changes that have taken over the years have been quite shocking. Enough so that I yanked my 3rd out and put him in private school. The principal and now two vice principals appear heavily focused on the students who don't speak English while the average to above average kids are all forgotten. They have added a GT program, but oddly there are kids in there with SIGNIFICANT behavioral problems and causing great disturbances for the others that want to learn. All the schools resources seem go to those students that have difficult with English. (Gotta boost those test scores to save jobs.) When your child is being partnered with another child to teach the other child BASIC ENGLISH something is wrong. My child is supposed to go to school to LEARN, not to be a teacher to someone else who doesn't even want to be there much less understand what's going on. Many of the veteran teachers are running away from the school in droves (or being forced out by the administration) so the turnover rate is high.

Dranesville Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending Drainsville for the past 3 years. He has loved all of his teachers. The office staff is all very friendly and welcoming. The kids that attend are very polite and thoughtful. I have been volunteering there every weeks for the past three years so I know first had.


Dranesville Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. The teachers are fabulous and caring! The office is helpful and you get the overall feeling that all of the adults care about children.

Dranesville Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Dranesville teaches manner but the academic level needed to improve big time. Comparing to the other public school my nephew and nieces attended the level is beyond below...

Nearby schools

Dranesville Elementary School
1515 Powells Tavern Place, Herndon, VA  20170
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (703) 326-5200
Last modified Dranesville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top