Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
194 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West End Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at the school really care about their students and will stay after school to help the students. They work closely with parents and students to help the child learn.

West End Christian School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Sometimes it seems like there is too much homework, but that teaches the students to prioritize their workload.


West End Christian School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Students are required to take more classes than public school. Students will graduate with 28 to 32 credits in 4 years. They take 8 classes a year in high school.

West End Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Students in 6-12 grade are required to do community service for part of their Bible grade. This is an excellent way for students to help their community, learn what needs there are in the community, and it gives them work experience.

West End Christian School 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Smaller classes, great teachers. Teachers really care about the students. My daughter was bullied at her other high school, but here, she is welcomed by the other students. She even went out for the basketball team this year. She has to work harder at this school to get good grades, but the teachers are there to help all students. She enjoys going to school and she has made new friends. I am glad we put her in the school. I really like the idea of uniforms. Khaki or blue pants, skirts and polo shirts make the students look nice. I would recommend this school to all parents.


West End Christian School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
We love West End! I went here as a child in the 80's and my daughter attends now.

West End Christian School 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
Thanks to the combination of guidance received at West End Christian School and our support as parents we have a daughter that has the opportunity to do well in todays world. In the ten years she has been there as a student our day has never started with hearing that I do not want to go to school. When we pick her up after school she comes home with the same positive feeling. The interest in her academic gains and the advancement of her faith can be seen in the efforts of the staff. At times when when she needed help her teachers made time available even after school and gave her the confidence to do well. Do your homework and ask any parent with a child that has been there in recent years and you find a common satisfaction. Give your child the chance to be a successful student and person that can contribute to the world outside the class room by enrolling them at West End Christian School.

West End Christian School 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Don't be fooled by all the smiling and Bible-thumping. There is a mean, evil spirit in this place.


West End Christian School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from this school and I am a adult now with a career and family. I can tell those reading this I had to take several courses through correspondence classes because West End did not have the staff to teach the subjects needed to graduate. I struggled and there was not a abundance of options for additional help or tutoring. The enrollment is expensive plus there are additional fees, no bus service, etc. If you are willing to pay for a private school for your child, go check out the larger schools. There are very limited extra curricular activities and sports here. They are just too small and don't have the funding. You get what you pay for so if you choose this school because it may be lower priced than other private schools, your child will pay a different price. I can also tell you that although it is supposed to be non-denominational, when I attended, I was shown anti-Mormon and anti-Jehovah Witness films on Chapel days and it was widely known here, not all Christian denominations were accepted here. This is fact. I have no personal interest or gain by writing this. I have graduated from here and moved on but it was a struggle that I wish upon no other kid.

West End Christian School 5

Posted March 29, 2014
- a community member
I have been going to this school for three years now and I love it. The teachers are great and want to help you as much as possible. Though we have minimum activities for the high school levels, the school tries their best, I know. The small classrooms let the students get more attention from the teachers. The teachers are funny and amazing!!!!!!! Oh, and the food is great. What's not to love?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West End Christian School
1600 Atlantic Street, Hopewell, VA  23860
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (804) 458-6142
Last modified West End Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top