Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patrick Copeland Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 654 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2013

Not much has changed. The school system does barely anything to stay within regulatory means. Turns a blind eye to bullying, treating it like "Survival of the fittest". Amazes me a town along a river puts forth such low effort and has low value.


Posted November 25, 2013

My kindergartner is doing great in this school and from everything I have seen they have great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

We are a military family our child has special needs and this is her second year in Patrick Copeland. Since she has been in this school we have attended meetings to discuss ways to better our child's education. She is coming home crying I feel like my child is being punished for not understanding her work also, being bullied by other children some of the teachers act like they have no feelings for the children I would not recommend this school to anyone I will be glad when this school term is done my child will never come back to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

I have three children and have had experiences with two other elementary schools, Tussing in Colonial Heights and Enon Elementary in Chester, both were superior to Patrick Copeland in every way. We've been here for three months and I am anxious to get out ASAP. My daughter is a straight A student, but isn't challenged. There is very little homework and she is in 2nd grade. I am also talked down to by the staff, they are on the defensive even when requesting if I pick my daughter up rather than her ride the bus home. I thought I was imagining it at first, but it's been the tone more often than not. I work in customer service, so perhaps I'm more sensitive to it than most. I am often taken aback by the general attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

Both of my children attendend Patrick Copeland School K-5 (one from 1998-2004 & one from 2003-2009). I am very pleased with the education that my children recieved and attribute their continuing success to the strong educational foundation they received from PCS. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who has a child in grades K-5. We had a great experience and will miss the teachers and staff at PCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

My two children were at this school in kindergarten and I got a reports from their teachers daily on what kind of a day they had. They also sent home work in a special folder o thtatthat I know to look for . May this parent didn't bother to do thath
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

My son has gone to PCE since first grade and we've had an excellent experience thus far. The teachers and the principal truly care about the students. We're headed for middle school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

We are a military family from out of town. This is my kids second year going to this school. 2004-2005 year was read good. I believe in discipline and I am a discipline person myself. My biggest problem with this school is alot of the teachers doesn't seem or show to care for the children. I really don't know why some of these teachers teach. This is the worst school my kids has ever attended. Hopefully next year we will be gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

If you have to live in Hopewell and cannot afford any of the private schools there, pehaps you can find worse places then this school. I wasnt happy with my childs kindergarten teacher (will leave her name out) as she was not good keeping me informed on my childs needs/progress. I hope first grade is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students61%
Female students58%
Male students65%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students54%
Female students47%
Male students63%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%

Science

All Students81%
Female students76%
Male students86%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students65%
Male students59%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students59%
Female students60%
Male students58%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students72%
Male students52%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

English: Writing

All Students57%
Female students62%
Male students51%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students56%
Female students62%
Male students49%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English56%

Science

All Students69%
Female students79%
Male students59%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Susan S. Jones

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Westhill Drive
Hopewell, VA 23860
Phone: (804) 541-6410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Lead Center Ltd
Hopewell, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT