Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Patrick Copeland Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended this school for four years and has had a wonderful experience. The teachers are wonderful. I truly appreciate all of their efforts.

Patrick Copeland Elementary School 1

Posted November 26, 2013
- a community member
Not much has changed. The school system does barely anything to stay within regulatory means. Turns a blind eye to bullying, treating it like "Survival of the fittest". Amazes me a town along a river puts forth such low effort and has low value.


Patrick Copeland Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
My kindergartner is doing great in this school and from everything I have seen they have great teachers.

Patrick Copeland Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family our child has special needs and this is her second year in Patrick Copeland. Since she has been in this school we have attended meetings to discuss ways to better our child's education. She is coming home crying I feel like my child is being punished for not understanding her work also, being bullied by other children some of the teachers act like they have no feelings for the children I would not recommend this school to anyone I will be glad when this school term is done my child will never come back to this school.

Patrick Copeland Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
I have three children and have had experiences with two other elementary schools, Tussing in Colonial Heights and Enon Elementary in Chester, both were superior to Patrick Copeland in every way. We've been here for three months and I am anxious to get out ASAP. My daughter is a straight A student, but isn't challenged. There is very little homework and she is in 2nd grade. I am also talked down to by the staff, they are on the defensive even when requesting if I pick my daughter up rather than her ride the bus home. I thought I was imagining it at first, but it's been the tone more often than not. I work in customer service, so perhaps I'm more sensitive to it than most. I am often taken aback by the general attitude.


Patrick Copeland Elementary School 4

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children attendend Patrick Copeland School K-5 (one from 1998-2004 & one from 2003-2009). I am very pleased with the education that my children recieved and attribute their continuing success to the strong educational foundation they received from PCS. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who has a child in grades K-5. We had a great experience and will miss the teachers and staff at PCS.

Patrick Copeland Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 20, 2008
- a parent
My two children were at this school in kindergarten and I got a reports from their teachers daily on what kind of a day they had. They also sent home work in a special folder o thtatthat I know to look for . May this parent didn't bother to do thath

Patrick Copeland Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 23, 2007
- a parent
My son has gone to PCE since first grade and we've had an excellent experience thus far. The teachers and the principal truly care about the students. We're headed for middle school next year.


Patrick Copeland Elementary School 3

Posted November 21, 2005
- a parent
We are a military family from out of town. This is my kids second year going to this school. 2004-2005 year was read good. I believe in discipline and I am a discipline person myself. My biggest problem with this school is alot of the teachers doesn't seem or show to care for the children. I really don't know why some of these teachers teach. This is the worst school my kids has ever attended. Hopefully next year we will be gone.

Patrick Copeland Elementary School 1

Posted September 13, 2005
- a parent
If you have to live in Hopewell and cannot afford any of the private schools there, pehaps you can find worse places then this school. I wasnt happy with my childs kindergarten teacher (will leave her name out) as she was not good keeping me informed on my childs needs/progress. I hope first grade is better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Patrick Copeland Elementary School
400 Westhill Drive, Hopewell, VA  23860
(804) 541-6410
Last modified Patrick Copeland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Patrick Copeland Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top