Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sealston Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
Good teachers make good schools! With only one exception, all teachers have been responsive, knowledgeable, and polite. In particular, we like that the teacher challenge the students with just enough schoolwork/homework. I know other parents of elementary school students that go home and there is no homework or special projects. That is a shame because homework is a part of school, and when you move on to middle/high school and college, homework and projects are a fact of life. Overall, we are happy with this school.

Sealston Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
My children have received Distinguished Honor Roll for this school year and we are happy with the teacher communication.


Sealston Elementary School 1

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
We had a terrible experience at Sealston. No communication, kids were allowed to be completely out of control. I even understand that my daughters Kindergarten teacher was fired at the end of the year because her classroom was so poorly run. It's really a shame because that is her Kindergarten memory and it's awful- she's much older now and remembers Kindergarten with disdain. I hate leaving a poor review because I did like the principal at the time, but in the end I pulled my kids out and home-schooled until we moved out of the county.

Sealston Elementary School 1

Posted June 04, 2010
- a parent
This is our second year at Sealston. If I could do it over, I would spend a few extra bucks and move a few miles up the road to Stafford County. Sealston and King George Schools are horrible. Sealston has not been able to pass the standardized tests. They are way behind other school districts Please go to the Virginia Education website and reveiw the SOL test scores. No, all students are not failing. However, if you have a child who's excited about learning...they will not be after attending this school. The child will end up wth an attitude of "just getting by". I can't speak for all teachers but the two we've had were terrible! They don't motivate the kids unless they are taking the Standardized tests. Also, the school is not diverse. I hope it get's better or I'm going the private school route.

Sealston Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Sealston did a super job with my kid. His teachers were great, and the school ran well. They have high expectations for the kids, and the kids respond well.


Sealston Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
My girls started at Sealston when the oldest was beginning 2nd grade (now 4th) and the youngest is now in 1st. I have had great experience with the teachers, staff and fellow parents in this school. As far as the safety of the children, I firmly believe that Sealston has excelled in my book. The first year there their non custodial father took "court papers" to Sealston and tried to convince the staff to dismiss my child to them. The safety of my children has never been questioned at Sealston. The staff are all very happy to deal with the split family situation and protect my children as needed. The parents who are involved, however, are all the same ones helping. More parent involvment would be nice.

Sealston Elementary School 2

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
My children have attended this school since it opened. We have had both positive and negative experiences. This is the first year that I can honestly say we have had good teachers that work well with my children and communicate regularly with my husband and myself. We have had mostly negative experiences with the principal and assistant principal which usually result in having to contact higher-ups to get appropriate resolution. If I could I would move my children to a school that is highly committed to keeping my children safe as I believe this is an area in which they are severely lacking...

Sealston Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Sealston because they care about the students, they have a friendly and caring staff, they always make you feel welcome and they try to keep the bulies at bay more than any other school we've attended.


Sealston Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
We're coming to the end of our second here at Sealston and we continue to give the program, educators and principles high marks. Someone posted that the school is very attentive to parental involvement and I echo that sentiment. We have been highly engaged with our child's teachers who have proven they have the childrens' best interests at heart. Its been a great experience!

Sealston Elementary School 4

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Is my son's first year in this elemetary school, and he loves it. The teachers are great, but I do have a problem with their transportation. They are never in time, and they are late for drop off. It takes him one hour to get to school and one hour to get back, even if we live 12 minutes away. I hope they will look into that and make some changes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sealston Elementary School
11048 Fletcher's Chapel Rd., King George, VA  22485
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (540) 775-3400
Last modified Sealston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top