Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
King George, VA
Students enrolled: 1,282

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


King George High School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a teacher
The school has come far in the last 6 years. I'm a teacher at the school and the former reviews are irrelevant at this point. The school building is new, the stadium is new, the kids are enthusiastic about their school, and their test grades are high. For a school of only about 1,300 these students have dominated in sports. Our academic offerings in regard to AP and dual enrollment is better than the area school. I live in King George and would be happy to have my children go to the high school.

King George High School 3

Posted May 31, 2013
- a teacher
Actually the complaints about the grading system were entirely correct. KGHS was on the 7 point system through the 2008/2009 academic year. They went on the 10 point scale in 2010 due to an enormous push from parents and (some) faculty due to the inequity of the 7 point scale against other schools with regard to college admissions.


King George High School 0
no rating

Posted August 30, 2009
- a student
All complaints about the grading system are incorrect, 10 point scale. KGHS is awesome.

King George High School 1

Posted December 24, 2008
- a parent
The problem at King George High school is inconsistant application of rules. The administration is slow to respond on issues. The teachers are very good.

King George High School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
The biggest thing for me right now is how our kids are graded. KGHS is on the 7 point scale and it is hurting our students College admission. GPA is lower due to this scale - most other schools use a 10 point scale and the kids score statistically .25-.3 higher on GPA. Colleges use GPA for scholarships, Honors, Admission. Just a .1 diffenence can mean not getting in your school of choice. KGHS needs to get with the program and grade like other schools so we have an equal chance at post secondary academics. And they shoud do it immediately.


King George High School 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
The so-called 'block' system used at KGHS schedules only four classes per semester. This is one or two classes too few, leading to situations where core academic classes (math, science, english language) might not be taken every semester, and where art activities must be moved to outside school hours. This 4 class plan makes class periods about 90 minutes long, which is too long for bottom and brain, unless the teacher is creative enought to break up the time. I've found the faculty and administration to be responsive and cooperative, though I sometimes disagree with their decisions. The music program is poorly funded. That the various bands and directors represent the colors of the school in public forums, with great talent and effort, with almost no funding from public dollars, should be an embarrasment to the county supervisors and school board.

King George High School 2

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
Overcrowding is a problem. Some teachers don't even have their own classroom. In some cases teachers are reduced to babysitting because of one or two students acting up in the classroom. If you are planning to move into or out of the county with a high school student don't do it during the school year it will make a mess of their classes. King George runs on a block system, 4 one semster and 4 the next. Which means that you are cramming year long classes into about 3 months and could mean going a year between math classes. I have been concerned for my child's safety. The school does have some really great teachers that have been very helpful.

King George High School 5

Posted June 03, 2008
- a community member
I'm sorry to disagree with the other reviews, however my nephew has been attending this school for one whole year now!...and he is absolutley doing wonderful!...He transfered down from MD schools, and has really done awesome at this school...yes it is packed!.however their NEW HIGH SCHOOL should be open the end of 2008, so everyone is looking forward to this....King george is a small town, so yea, the bus system has to do what they have to do...all in all, its a great school...and I believe they should get a higher rating....


King George High School 1

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
Administration does not respond or is slow (days) to respond to queries. School is absurdly overcrowded. 14 trailers. There are almost as many students in trailers as there are in classrooms. School bus system is a joke. Some kids are picked up at 6 AM to be at school at 7:30. The same buses are used for 2 and sometimes 3 runs a day. Instead of having K5 through 12th on the same bus to save bus expenses, time and labor there has to be a separate bus for each school (ES, Middle, HS). Some ES kids get out of school at 3:20 and get home at 5:20.

King George High School 3

Posted January 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

King George High School
10100 Foxes Way, King George, VA  22485
(540) 775-3535
Last modified King George High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
King George High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top