Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

King George Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 667 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

My child has habitually slipped through the cracks at this school. If I do not stay on every teacher, every week, he is allowed to slip without so much as a phone call or a warning. I have had only one teacher call my home, or send a notice home, in two years of middle school. He is the exception. The rules are inconsistently applied by the principal, and staff. I actually caught a teacher in a lie when questioning him about an incident with my son. My son has a learning disability, and I have to stay on him, and the school for him to get the work done. The worst was when he was out for a week with a serious illness. We made up his homework, and I dropped it off in the office. His teachers reported that they never got it. We made it all up again, and when he returned to school, I placed it in a nice organizer with each teachers name. Half of them said they didn't get it again. We completed the work a third time, and he still didn't get credit for all of it. Unorganized, and ineffectual!!!! Can't wait to be done with the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

I must say that even though this school has been turned around by it's new Principal, the vice Principal is just HORRID. She was blatantly rude to my child and talked down to him as if he was 5 years old. My child is a bit of a trouble maker but they immediately jumped to the conclusion that he had a mental disorder and basically demanded that he be "treated". Whenever something goes wrong they are quick to blame him because he's had a few incidents. They make him miss important class time to sit in an office and wait. My child has also been LOCKED IN A ROOM when in trouble yet the Vice Principal said repeatedly that he was kind and respectful during the OSS process. I would NOT recommend sending your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

I've dealt with the middle school and I have to say, it is the absolute worse school. And that is saying a lot given that we are from the kingdom of bad schools, PG County, MD. It's mainly the principal of this school that makes it so bad. She lacks professionalism, respect, and she's a bully to the kids and some parents and teachers. Why she remains in this position baffles me. . . The teachers, however, are very good. My daughter never had any complaints about a teacher, yet, the administration needs a serious overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

I am a student at King George Middle School and I personally LOVE it! Most of the teachers are nice, and I the new band teacher and our old teacher, who now teaches at the high school, are both really good and they are willing to work with you, and are friendly. The only problem i have is that the auditorium is a little crowded, since we have advanced in student range to about 800 students. I have another problem with reading out loud, because I am in 8th grade, and I wasn't reading out loud in third.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2010

This is the worst school my kids have ever attended and we have lived all over the country, The worst problem is the principle. She is a bully. She is dis organized and lacks the ability to run the school effectively. For instance we moved into the old high school. We had open house and she didn't plan for a lot of parents attending. You couldn't get into the auditorium so most parents didn't get to hear what was going on. I guess it came as a surprise that with there would be a large attendance because none of the students had been in the new building. When they send home interims they don't make just one - every class sends a page home. My kid came home with 6 sheets of paper. the other schools are able to do it so why can't the middle school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

As a very active parent in the school system I'm proud of the efforts the principle of this school has made to turn things around drastically. Although there are budget issues more here then anywhere, it is still great to see the standard of learning scores have increased dramatically!! After all that's why my kids go to school to LEARN! My hat goes off to the staff and all of it's accomplishments. Especially thoseos the principles Ms. A
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

This was the worst school my child attended. Treated disrespectfully by a certain teacher. Then when complaints were made, denials ensued. The Principal is the worst there is. Stafford schools are much better with honest and reputable teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

Although SOL scores have improved, do not be fooled. This school is very poor, stocked with legacy teachers and a pervasive attitude of indifference. This is not a middle school -- it is an elementary school for 7th and 8th graders. Your child will experience a zero defect environment and will get a referral and ISS for something as trivial as gum chewing. This is not preparation for high school. We have experienced both grades with 2 different children, and as much as we have engaged as PTA members, sadly...it's too broke for us to continue another year. Avoid, go to Stafford or Spotsy, but avoid KGCS in general and this school in particular. If your child is an athlete, avoid. He can swap helmets with one of the other football players. No softball, no baseball. No coaches with any experience. Other extracurricular activities are unbelivably weak. Run away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

Though I wish there was more selection in electives like my son's former school, I am happy at the overall teachings my son has received since we moved here 2 years ago. Of course, everyone knows that a parent cannot depend on school to teach everything! Parents are the main teachers in the child's life! As he is getting ready to be a highschooler, I am happy that the past 2 years have taught him to enjoy adjust to different school, to know his priorities (sports vs academic achievements) and to understand that the world we live in have different kinds of people. I believe the school administration focuses on the well-being of the students while they are in-school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

KGMS might not be the best but overall, I'm satisfied with the results sofar as I watch my son's adjustment to a transferred school this year though I wish there is more selection in the electives available like his former one. It is great to receive emails from teachers letting parents know of the agenda for the week in a particular class. Plus the results in important exams!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

The overall standards of kgms is very bad they don't have very good teachers the school is overcrowded the lockers are too small the band has very old instruments the band teacher is very good though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2005

King George schools are lacking alot. The teachers (with the exception of a few) are un caring and pay very little attention to the students. They go over the stuff very quickly and very rarely go back over it. Another thing King George is lacking is discipline These are just a view things I think the school. The overall condition of the school is below average. People just don't get involved enough.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2004

I m not sure what the hiring practices are and/or what interview process King George goes through, but it is broke. I have a daughter who has a reading and reading comprehension problem. She occasionally will get help from a teacher who cares, but most of the time she doesn t. The English department is hurting (except for Mr. Fike and Mrs. Miller). Here is an example of something you think a teacher would pick up the phone and notify a parent: My daughter had an A at interims and received an F at the end of six weeks. Did we receive a phone call, a note in the Journal, anything? No!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students84%
Male students74%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial80%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students47%
Female students51%
Male students44%
Black students31%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students53%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students80%
Male students75%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial73%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

English: Writing

All Students78%
Female students84%
Male students73%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial87%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students72%
Female students71%
Male students72%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students84%
Female students87%
Male students81%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8246 Dahlgren Road
King George, VA 22485
Phone: (540) 775-2331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Beach High School
Colonial Beach, VA


Monroe Bay Christian Academy
Colonial Beach, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT