Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
I am pleased to provide this review for Loudoun Country Day School (LCDS). By way of disclosure, I am not a faculty member, board member, trustee, or other member of the governing structure. Nor do I have any financial or other economic interest in LCDS. I am "just" a parent of two children who have attended the school from the beginning of their schooling. As a Ph.D. myself, my wife and I place a high value on education. I can state from personal experience that LCDS has not let us down. On the contrary, it has continued to deliver an excellent educational and social experience. Perhaps the best way to summarize the environment is to compare it to a "little" liberal arts campus. Children learn the fundamentals for later STEM work and the ability to communicate persuasively in whatever subject they are asked to command. In addition, they learn about the world around them and how they fit into that world as contributing citizens. In short, the program succeeds in delivering what they promise, which is the development of the complete child. I have not regretted the decision for my children. And I would strongly encourage you to consider the program for yours.

Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
Loudoun Country Day School has been a wonderful experience for our daughter for the past three years in sixth, seventh, and eighth grades. From our first Orientation Reception to today, we have felt welcome and part of a family. Everyone helps each other so their children can develop, succeed, and excel. The middle school program is challenging and comprehensive, with outstanding teachers who care about the students. Class projects are unique, interesting and combined with field trips that enrich the learning experience. The school s headmaster, Dr. Randy Hollister is an engaged leader, who instills in the students to aim high and excel. Each morning, he and members of his administrative staff, greet each student as they get off their bus or from their car. LCDS also promotes leadership, community service, character development, and public speaking. Our daughter has represented the school at Open Houses as a Student Ambassador, and has loved the experience. LCDS is a very special school, that provides superior academic programs, the arts, athletics, and uses the most advanced technologies in the classroom.


Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
As parents, we all have high standards and want the best education possible for our children. Loudoun Country Day School has greatly exceeded our expectations academically as well as socially. The small class sizes and strong sense of community fosters a nurturing environment that is palpable from the dedicated faculty and staff to the exceptional Headmaster. This comprehensive program focuses on developing the whole child through its challenging curriculum, community service events, public speaking, and character development. The children truly grasp the valuable skills necessary to care for others in their community and in the world.

Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
LCDS has provided our son with a fantastic educational experience for the past five years. We are impressed with the quality of the teachers, facilities, small class sizes, and challenging educational curriculum. Additionally, the headmaster, Dr. Hollister, cares deeply about the students and staff. We look forward to experiencing the middle school program this fall and having our son graduate from LCDS.

Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
We are very pleased with not only the school but the summer camp program. Our children are having a great time so far. Thank you LCDS!


Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted March 24, 2012
- a parent
This school has done more to challenge our bright child than his previous "gifted" school ever did. Worth every penny. Great teachers and the students come from nice families. Kids are happy and engaged.

Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
Five stars is not enough for this amazing school. We knew we had picked a wonderful place for our daughter to attend K through 2nd grade, but when a job relocation forced us to move to Florida, we had that confirmed and more! LCDS is a fantastic school with committed teachers, a nurturing environment, enriching after-school programs and awesome field trips. Given the chance, we would return to LCDS in a heartbeat!

Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
We feel Loudoun Country Day School in Leesburg, VA immensely enriched the lives of our whole family. Our original intention was for our 2 sons, now 25 and 27, to attend the terrific full day kindergarten program. Both boys thrived and enjoyed school so much that we made sacrifices to keep them enrolled through the 8th grade. Our involvement with LCDS spanned 13 years. I feel we were all rewarded on many different levels. Because of the dedication of the teachers and headmaster to foster curiosity and bring out the best talents in every child, both our boys have developed passions for literature, politics, world history, math, science, music and arts and a variety of sports. We all agree that LCDS provided the educational foundation and encouragement that allowed them to graduate from both high school and college with a variety of honors and enable them to pursue meaningful careers in their young adult lives.


Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
Our kids attend LCDS and they love it! The teachers are experienced and caring. The small class sizes provide individual attention to the students which keeps them involved in their school work. Our kids are getting an education and not just test prep. The extracurricular activities offered are varied and well rounded making the school a great place for a child to grow and learn. The level of parent involvement has created a true sense of community. The Head Master is always there to greet students and parents. In general, the school has been a very nurturing environment to our kids.

Loudoun Country Day School 5

Posted January 08, 2012
- a parent
Our child has attended Loudoun Country Day School for the past two years -- and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are phenomenal! They develop incredibly creative and challenging lessons that extend far beyond "the basics". The small classes allow teachers to give children individual attention and differentiate instruction. I have been very impressed with the school culture and sense of community. Everyone knows my daughter and she feels very welcomed every day. As she goes into the older grades, we look forward to having her participate in the fabulous team sports program and orchestra/band -- since we believe a well-rounded school program is important. I highly recommend LCDS and encourage parents to visit the school for a tour or open house. You won't be disappointed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Loudoun Country Day School
20600 Red Cedar Drive, Leesburg, VA  20175
(703) 777-3841
Last modified Loudoun Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Loudoun Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top