Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Leesburg, VA
Students enrolled: 979

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harper Park Middle School 1

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
I absolutely could not wait to get out of Harper Park when I went to school there. The bullying from students is horrible and the administration did little to nothing about it, and the bullying had become so bad for me, I had to transfer to another middle school in the county for 8th grade. They have removed all honors classes, which is absurd and no other school in the county has done this, all in the name of making everyone feel equal, which isn't typically the case for education since everyone is at different levels. This is just an unwelcoming school that is disappointing all around from the administration, the teachers and the students. Don't waste your time by considering this school, you will regret it.

Harper Park Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a community member
I have been to 10 different schools. Yes, 10. I was born in Bulgaria and moved to the USA when I was 8. I didn't know english, and all the schools I went to didn't offer anything good. When I came to Harper Park, I learnt english very quickly. The teachers really know how to teach a student. As you can tell, Harper Park has improved my english spectacularly! For the parents, ask you child what they think and how they are learning before you add a review. You don't learn there, you don't really know how good it is.


Harper Park Middle School 1

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
Although this will be my daughter's last year at Harper Park, we both can't wait. Under this administration, this middle school has lacked vision, cohesiveness, accountability, and talented teachers. The principal seems more concerned about her appearance than hiring qualified teachers. Parent involvement is lacking, since most of us are fed up with the poor leadership. My daughter is also frustrated with the combined honors and regular class, this has been disruptive to her education. It has perpetrated a false sense of the "everybody's a winner" mentality, while my child is suffering and not being remotely challenged.

Harper Park Middle School 2

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Since the departure of the Principal, Mr Shipp, Harper Park has begun a slow downward spiral. Current leadership is lacking and the open door policy with the new Principal is virtually non-existant. There are a few excellent teachers however there are some serious ego issues with many leading to what appears to be power struggles over who is better than who. And it's so unfortunate because when Mr Shipp was around, everyone was on board providing a fantastic educational experience. Quite different than it was before.

Harper Park Middle School 2

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
I have to agree with the parent submission on February 19th, this school does lack vision and direction. My daughter has 3 honor classes (english, science, history) and receives no homework, while peers in her youth group receives constant homework at different middle schools. I have personally experienced teachers not responding to emails when requesting homework or more challenging work for my daughter . Unfortunately the majority of the students are on the honor roll yet the test scores does not reflect intellectually challenged students...... Most students receives a "Honor Roll" bumper sticker!! I have decided to homeschool my daughter.


Harper Park Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
Harper Park Middle School is a wonderful place... Two of my three kids have spent three years of their lives there. The staff is committed and are great teachers and administrators!!!

Harper Park Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
This is an amazing school! They have created a wonderful learning environment for all the students. My children are excited to attend school and want to achieve higher goals because of the support and thoughtfulness of the staff!

Harper Park Middle School 5

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
Wow! What a great school! My child has been out of school for two weeks and he is already wanting to go back to Harper Park. The school simply does a great job with everything - the academic and social growth of our son this past year is tremendous. Everyday our son was adamant that the entire family listened to what happened in his classes at Harper Park - usually its like pulling teeth to get this type of information!


Harper Park Middle School 5

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
My son moved into this school district for his sixth grade year from a very good school district in Fairfax County, VA. As a military family, we have seen many different schools over the years. This school is top-notch and it begins at the top with Principal Shipp. He ensures that the parents are involved whenever possible. The deans and instructors have been terrific. Keep it up!

Harper Park Middle School 4

Posted December 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harper Park Middle School
701 Potomac Station Dr NE, Leesburg, VA  20176
(571) 252-2820
Last modified Harper Park Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harper Park Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top