Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seldens Landing Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1046 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

My children have been at SLES since Kindergarten and are entering the 5th grade this year. I cannot say enough good things about this school: a strong, passionate principal, skilled, caring teachers, a great front office staff, a fabulous facility, and a very active PTA. My children have had a great experience and I believe they will be more than ready for middle school after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2013

I'm a fifth grader and for my whole life I have gone to the same school , it never gets boring. All teacher's and staff are willing to cooperate. The principle loves storys and when you'r about to go to class she'll give a nice comment. I don't want to leave Seldens Landing. Honestly I don't think my school has to change. We always have a fun learning day to remember. Every kid leaves happy with a smile. Your child will love Seldens Landing


Posted October 19, 2012

Terrific school for our first grader- he was new to the community and has assimilated exceptionally well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

Excellent teachers, amazing principal, parents are always welcome, very well prepare for any child necessity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

First day of school and once again I am thrilled that my children attend Seldens. Every member of the team - from the cafeteria and custodial staffs, to the teachers and the administrators to the PTA - is dedicated to doing the best job they can and to make a difference in the lives of the kids in their charge. My only regret is that this is our last year there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

The fifth grade teachers are such a wonderful group of individuals. They care about the kids and they love their jobs!!!! I feel my child will be fully prepared for middle school. The new administration seems to be in control of all aspects of the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

I love this school and all the teachers. The principal and teachers are very involved with the kids and you can tell that they love their job. Whenever we have needed support, the staff has been eager to assist us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I have twins at Seldens, currently in 1st grade, and I cannot say enough great things about the school as a whole, the individual teachers, and the parents support for the school. I really caring environment from the Principal down. Both my kids are getting extra reading help and it has worked a treat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

My boys attended Seldens Landing for 3 years. Most of the teachers at this school are very good. Some are exceptional. Unfortunately, there are some that you would rather not have. Who would want someone like the teacher that submitted that review in October? Mrs. Fay and Mr. Hockensmith were just 2 of the teachers that made a lasting impact on my boys. We had great teachers for 3 years. But like most parents, I was concerned about who we may get at the start of each year. I think that the PTA does a wonderful job. We met many nice and caring parents at this school. I volunteered in the classrooms every week. This school is definitely not lacking in academic resources. The classrooms are too small for the number of students. But my boys are thriving academically because of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I think our school cares about academics and character. We constantly implement programs that support this. The PTA supports the staff and volunteers alot of their time. I'm truly impressed with the PTA and their efforts. I feel blessed to work at a school with concerned parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2008

This is one of the worst schools I've ever taught at. The parents treat it as though it is a private school. They act like they are better than the teachers and that they know more because they make more money. They think that it is a place for social gatherings and the PTA barely sets aside any money for academic needs in the school. The teacher appreciation is laughable.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2008

This is our third year at Seldens and we are so completely happy with the entire education experience our daughter has received. The teacher are very caring and go the extra mile to make sure no one slips between the cracks. The parent involvement is phenominal. My sister has her children in a private school nearby and even they are impressed at level in which our children are learning. This school is the whole complete package to educate and develop tomorrows leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My two children entered Seldens this past year. They had a wonderful experience. The teachers and staff are wonderful and made every day a happy day for them- I never heard a complaint. The school standards are high and will they truly work hard with students and parents if a child are struggling. And they also challenge children who are ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My daughter started 3rd grade at Seldens. She had a wonderful teacher (Ms. Shirley) who really cared about the children. Academically, she showed real growth and enjoyed the year. She was teased on the bus for being adopted, but the administration was very supported and stopped the behavior in kind, firm manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

I think Seldens Landing is a terrific school. The teachers and staff are wonderful. My daughter is in 3rd grade and has really enjoyed her time at Seldens. The curriculum is cutting edge and the teachers really make learning fun. Mrs. Allder is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

I taught oversees at a number of private school before moving to Virginia. When my oldest son turned 4 we decided to move to Loudoun county. I had heard that the school distract here was better than most. I was very concerned about sending my child to a public school, because I was still under the impression that public schools in the US were not very good. I was pleasantly surprise with how happy I was with the overall education my son was receiving at Seldens Landing. He is in second grade now and I'm very happy with his school and teachers. I would highly recommend this school. Parent involvement is also very important to me and Seldens has plenty of it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students73%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial92%
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students20%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students77%
Female students69%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial92%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students90%
Female students84%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students90%
Male students74%
Black students82%
Asian students81%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students79%
Female students80%
Male students79%
Black students80%
Asian students86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial71%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students90%
Male students83%
Black students67%
Asian students83%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial67%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students95%
Male students85%
Black students75%
Asian students90%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial80%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students79%
Female students80%
Male students77%
Black students58%
Asian students97%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial73%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students92%
Black students75%
Asian students93%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial87%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43345 Coton Commons Dr
Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone: (571) 252-2260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Virginia Academy
Ashburn, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT