Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seldens Landing Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Not really. I am sure that many teachers at Seldens are great and trying to do their job the right way. I would have sent my thanks to my child's previous teacher, but she is no longer there.

Seldens Landing Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Depends on the individual teacher I guess. One year I had a very capable and caring teacher, the next year, wasn't as effective, in my opinion, and somewhat narrow minded. Again in my opinion.


Seldens Landing Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
I have no complaint about "the amount", but the quality was definitely not there. Also, I felt the homework was lacking in supporting comprehension using variety of techniques to support what has been learnt during the school day.

Seldens Landing Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
From my experience, the homework assignments were little convoluted, yet repetitive, and boring. The Homework format did not change through out the school year. Same activities, day in, day out.

Seldens Landing Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
I am not really sure. From my experience, I have only received one complaint from my daughter regarding a classmate "teasing", but it was dealt with on time. No complaints


Seldens Landing Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was very discouraged and felt isolated everyday of the week. She has real struggles in the classroom; I talked to the teacher in conferences and outside conferences, but the teacher was adamant about her ways of teaching, and I don't think she accepted my child's personality, and may be felt a bit of a resentment toward her shyness.

Seldens Landing Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
I don't agree because in my opinion, the school discriminate on the basis of ethnicity, social class, and cultural background. As a parent, my child and I have been excluded in a very subtle and insidious ways. I had experiences with other schools, both at Loudoun County, and outside the district, but I have never experienced such a lack of empathy.

Seldens Landing Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
As a parent, I get a feeling that I am entering a "Country Club" not a public elementary school. There is an air of snobbishness, condescendence, and down-right arrogance, both from the staff and some of the parents. If you do not fit certain racial group, or income level, then you should not anticipate any respect/compassion from the staff, and sometimes even the teacher(s). Seldens Landing ES, you need to become more inclusive, you're a public school, financed with public funds, not a private country club.


Seldens Landing Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
My children have been at SLES since Kindergarten and are entering the 5th grade this year. I cannot say enough good things about this school: a strong, passionate principal, skilled, caring teachers, a great front office staff, a fabulous facility, and a very active PTA. My children have had a great experience and I believe they will be more than ready for middle school after this year.

Seldens Landing Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers, parent involvement, updated facilities and computers. Very community minded school. Parents provide alot of volunteer support.

Nearby schools

Seldens Landing Elementary School
43345 Coton Commons Dr, Leesburg, VA  20176
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (571) 252-2260
Last modified Seldens Landing Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top