Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
Over the course of 5 years, we have experienced a private school, and 2 Loudoun County Elementary schools. By far, for LCPS Elementary school FHR was top notch. The school staff and teachers went out of their way to make my daughter(new student) feel comfortable adjusting to new school. My wife and myself and my daughter rate FHR as the best elementary school in Loudoun Cty. As far as learning and excelling in class, my daughter's SOL score show the final results. All in all I would highly recommend this school to any parent considering a move to the area.

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
Miss Lawson and Miss Davis are very compassionate in dealing with our new student. Our transition to new school was very smooth.


Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
I went in to enroll my son in kindergarten took my 2&3 years daughter. As soon we got there Lori Sample was very disrespectful and had poor choice of word when referring to a2&3 year old children. As a parent it is VERY UPSETTING to seen and hearing. How would you feel if some refers to you and you children"destructive" and "let me take care of them so I can get rid of". As a parent of a kindergarten I DONT feel good of having him go there. If you work in a elementary school you will be close to small children therefore you MUST have people that enjoy working with them and parents with a smile of your face!!!!

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
I have a rising 2nd grader attending FHR. Both K and 1st grade were an amazing and positive experience. I am an active PTA mom at the school and have to say I have been impressed from day one. I'm excited the school has a new principal who's very active and involved in the school, PTA and adores the kids. The teachers are amazing and make learning fun.

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
his is our first year at the school, and as the year comes to a close, I have nothing but praise for the teachers, administration, and the dedicated members of the PTA. I think the new principal is enthusiastic and welcoming, and I am constantly amazed at the variety of after-school programs and events. We're looking forward to many more years at FHR!


Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2009
- a parent
Our 2nd grader just loves this school and we can't wait for our little guy to start Kindergarten this fall. Good teachers and great parent involvement. Lots of activities and opportunities. One drawback is the tremendous amount of material that gets sent home each day/week. You will need to develop a system to handle and sort the information. You don't want to miss a 'Donuts with Dad' like I did :(.

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
This is a good but not great school, which is sad because the demographics, the teachers and the parents are great ingredients to make it an excellent school! The missing ingredient is the administration. The principal seems shy at best and tired, which is not what a school with 800+ students needs! The parents and teachers make this school a success but the administration adds nothing.

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2007
- a parent
Compared to the school we moved from, we are very pleased with this school with the exception of the large class sizes (which is a problem throughout the Loudoun County Public Schools). There is a lot of parent involvement at this school & the PTA sponsors many high-quality extra curricular activities. I'd like the principal to be more visible to the students and I'd like to hear more substantial information from her in the monthly newsletters.


Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
My husband and I are thrilled with this school. Great staff and programs available. My son has an IEP in place and the staff at FHR have gone above and beyond to ensure his academic success. Communication levels between teacher and parent are exceptional. I am pleased with the level of parent involvement too.everyone takes great pride in FHR.Go Ravens!

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a parent
Our 2nd grader has attended FHR for 1 year after transferring from CA and we are thrilled with this school. Many high quality programs, music, art, and great teacher to parent communication. Many involved parents and activities. The facilities are wonderful and we still can't get over the size of the library. Our 5 year old will start K this year and we are looking forward to much more of the best school in Leesburg!

Nearby schools

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School
800 North King St, Leesburg, VA  20176
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (571) 252-2050
Last modified Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top