Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smart's Mill Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 993 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

This school is OK if you get what i mean, its not the best, the dean is sort of mean according to 10 students that i asked, but the principle is up to date, this school is great the standards are nice but the teachers may move too fast and get kids stressed out and may not always be on subject the spanish teacher right now is a teacher who can teach but very arrogant and mean, ask any one of the studenst who take spanish and ask who is the worst teacher you have they might have a little bit of peer presure but they all will say the teacher's name
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

The TEACHERS and ADMINISTRATION want the best for all the students. They are all very supportive, and the Prinicipal has been very open to speaking to me directly every time I have contacted him. Personally, I want a principal with high expectations for his teachers. The last two years at Smart's Mill have been great. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

i agree with the other review about the school's principal. He is indeed very egocentric. He conducts lots of meetings and speeches wasting the time of teachers and the meetings and lectures never directly or indirectly improve the quality of education for the students. I feel bad for the teachers as they have no say in the amount of time he makes them spend in meetings and lectures. The teachers could instead use their time for the kids who needs individual attention. On one occasion, he requested teachers to volunteer to be cafeteria servers during their only 30 min lunch break in the whole day? Why not ask for volunteer parents and use teachers' time for helping kids learn? Is this the kind of leadership we want our schools to have?


Posted August 31, 2013

The principal of this school is more about his ego than fostering a positive learning environment. His dictatorial demeanor and attitude is not conducive to being a role model and motivator to students and staff. According to his bio on the school's website, he has a background in political science. Maybe he should re-visit that career choice and leave educational leadership to the real professionals. I feel for the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

This school puts up a great big facade. I've sat in meetings with deans, counselors, and teachers from this school where I was told C's and D's are passing. Told by a dean that the spanish class was easy and all students had to due was show up. We should be embarrased that a school like this is how our tax payer money is wasted
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

This school is absolutely amazing. The administration is dedicated to excellent education and teaching!


Posted December 22, 2008

its a wonderful school. teachers always there to help you if you have questions about. anything. that atmosphere is always friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

I have reside in leesburg for a little over a year and have been impress by Smart's Mill ES. I have one son in SMES and very impress with the teachers who are so caring and wonderful. My work has me on depolyment for nine months out of the year and the teachers are always keeping me up to date with all upcoming test, reports and current activities. Thank you all for your support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I've been impressed from the moment I stepped foot into this school. When my daughter was entering sixth grade we were welcomed with open arms. I was completely impressed about the involvement of the principal. He knew and remembered our name from our first meeting. The teachers are fabulous and always very creative and encouraging. My daughter is in her final year and will be moving on to High School next year with a strong foundation thanks to SMMS. We will definately miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I currently go to Smarts Mill middle school and really enjoy the environment there. It's always friendly and supportive. The only thing I wish they had, was more extracurricular activities. Writing is my big interest and I thinks they should have more writing programs. As for sports, I love volleyball and am glad they offer it to students because it's really fun and a great experience. Smarts Mill is a wonderful school and I'm glad I can say i go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2007

Smart's Mill is a wonderful school! The staff there seem to really care about the students and their needs. The principal has really done a great job putting together a great caring staff! There seems to be a lot of parental involvement and lots of things going on that I haven't seen in other schools. The have many clubs & activities after school- art, chess, ecology to name a few and 'family fun' nights. My child is new to middle school this year and has REALLY adjusted well thanks to the caring staff here! The feel of the school is really positive! They are also doing a nice job on the outside of the school too- a bit too many rocks but overall it looks nice. The study hall/resource is unfortunately not used for homework but they are using the time well I think. Overall- GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students85%
Male students77%
Black students71%
Asian students89%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial89%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students21%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students84%
Female students90%
Male students76%
Black students74%
Asian students92%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial90%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students86%
Male students74%
Black students56%
Asian students83%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial78%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students35%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students65%
Female students66%
Male students64%
Black students31%
Asian students71%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial61%
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students78%
Male students67%
Black students41%
Asian students75%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial75%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students12%
Proficient in English76%

English: Writing

All Students76%
Female students85%
Male students66%
Black students50%
Asian students75%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial71%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students27%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students34%
Female students35%
Male students33%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
White students38%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficient students23%
Proficient in English35%

Science

All Students79%
Female students81%
Male students77%
Black students47%
Asian students80%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial75%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial75%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Geometry

All Students99%
Female students100%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Will Waldman

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 N. King St.
Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone: (571) 252-2030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Douglass School
Leesburg, VA



Graydon Manor
Leesburg, VA


Providence Academy
Leesburg, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT