Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smart's Mill Middle School 5

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
Great school with impressive students, teachers and staff. Can't say enough about the good things I see there.

Smart's Mill Middle School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a community member
This is a great school and the principle is great even though some people say he's not. The teachers are unlike any other teacher and I should know I've been to three different schools so far. The teachers are very supportive and even give up their lunch times sometimes to help students. The school has a TON of awesome events and field trips for the students. The students are very kind and I have seen very little bullying because of all the bullying and kindness videos, speeches, etc. this schools rating should be 10/10 not 6/10 it's way worth more then that!


Smart's Mill Middle School 2

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is OK if you get what i mean, its not the best, the dean is sort of mean according to 10 students that i asked, but the principle is up to date, this school is great the standards are nice but the teachers may move too fast and get kids stressed out and may not always be on subject the spanish teacher right now is a teacher who can teach but very arrogant and mean, ask any one of the studenst who take spanish and ask who is the worst teacher you have they might have a little bit of peer presure but they all will say the teacher's name

Smart's Mill Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
The TEACHERS and ADMINISTRATION want the best for all the students. They are all very supportive, and the Prinicipal has been very open to speaking to me directly every time I have contacted him. Personally, I want a principal with high expectations for his teachers. The last two years at Smart's Mill have been great. We love it!

Smart's Mill Middle School 1

Posted October 13, 2013
- a community member
i agree with the other review about the school's principal. He is indeed very egocentric. He conducts lots of meetings and speeches wasting the time of teachers and the meetings and lectures never directly or indirectly improve the quality of education for the students. I feel bad for the teachers as they have no say in the amount of time he makes them spend in meetings and lectures. The teachers could instead use their time for the kids who needs individual attention. On one occasion, he requested teachers to volunteer to be cafeteria servers during their only 30 min lunch break in the whole day? Why not ask for volunteer parents and use teachers' time for helping kids learn? Is this the kind of leadership we want our schools to have?


Smart's Mill Middle School 1

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
The principal of this school is more about his ego than fostering a positive learning environment. His dictatorial demeanor and attitude is not conducive to being a role model and motivator to students and staff. According to his bio on the school's website, he has a background in political science. Maybe he should re-visit that career choice and leave educational leadership to the real professionals. I feel for the teachers.

Smart's Mill Middle School 2

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
This school puts up a great big facade. I've sat in meetings with deans, counselors, and teachers from this school where I was told C's and D's are passing. Told by a dean that the spanish class was easy and all students had to due was show up. We should be embarrased that a school like this is how our tax payer money is wasted

Smart's Mill Middle School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
This school is absolutely amazing. The administration is dedicated to excellent education and teaching!


Smart's Mill Middle School
no rating

Posted December 22, 2008
- a student
its a wonderful school. teachers always there to help you if you have questions about. anything. that atmosphere is always friendly.

Smart's Mill Middle School
no rating

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
I have reside in leesburg for a little over a year and have been impress by Smart's Mill ES. I have one son in SMES and very impress with the teachers who are so caring and wonderful. My work has me on depolyment for nine months out of the year and the teachers are always keeping me up to date with all upcoming test, reports and current activities. Thank you all for your support.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smart's Mill Middle School
850 N. King St., Leesburg, VA  20176
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (571) 252-2030
Last modified Smart's Mill Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top