Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockbridge County High School

Public | 9-12 | 978 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

I'm not longer a student but graduated just a few years ago. I felt much more prepared for college than many of my peers and thought that rchs gave me every opportunity to excel. We also had many students attend high end institutions. I was surprised the rating was so low. This is probably attributable to a wide variety of students some who didn't care about school but many of those are doing well without college. Additionally from what I've heard from my college peers it seems like there was much less violence, drugs, and teenage births at Rockbridge than many higher rated schools in more suburban areas.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2011

At time of writing I am a Senior attending this school. There are plenty of bad words circulating about this school, and while there are some problems I would like to shed some good on this school. Firstly, there is the utterly splendid Theatre department. What's disappointing is the lack of funding towards this, though. It might seem that all the funding for extracurricular activites heads to the sports (not that I'm decrying sports, I support our wildcat sports!). It is almost upsetting to know this and consider the high quality of the productions put forth, with both student and teacher working together. The Art department is also poorly-advertised. Not sure on their numerical funding as I have not taken a physical art class. However, I have taken Creative Writing and Expository Writing, which I believe were very enriching classes. I would like to believe that these classes have attributed to my (hopefully) excellent writing. The rest of the courses are fairly cut-and-go: the standard maths, sciences, englishes, etc. The quality of those classes often depends upon the teacher in charge. I essence, the school has a slightly tainted rep. but offers excellently enriching courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2009

I have a son who will be a Junior this year and I have been very pleased with the High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

As a parent of a recent RCHS graduate, I am very disappointed in the leadership of this school. It's a shame the principal has not been replaced by a more ethical person. I hear this echoed throughout Rockbridge County, Buena Vista and my child even said the teachers can't tolerate her. You wonder why the constant faculty turnover? If coming to the area please look at Buena Vista or a private school. I will for my other child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

There have been a lot of changes. Personal I found the lost of mr. Brain, the form principal of rchs, to be a major loss to everyone.Make no mistake the staff is underpaid. Yet they continue to put out a most stellar performance in the work place and with the students. Quality of academic programs and availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities are all above average. I often complained that there is not enough time in a school day or year to do all the courses I wanted to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2006

Overall this school is no different from any other, they need a strong PTA, with parent volunteers in the classes, hallways, etc. They also need a PAC, parents advisory counsel, PAC's are given funding every school year to better supply the students with the supplies, computers, books, etc. that they need, and the Principal has no say. It's totally up to the parents to decide where the monies are allocated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

The Principal and other administrators lack leadership skills and discipline is unfair because it is not consistent with each student.' I agree 100% with this statement. Can't wait to leave this area just because of this school. My two sons are 100% dissatified going to school here. Their education has suffered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I am very happy overall - there is a bit of change over in some of the faculty, which can cause some issues, but my experience with the school administration has been very good. They are helpful in resolving issues. I think parents involvement is paramount in getting the most from the school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

More and more teachers are quitting or retireing and the few replacements that we recieve are hardly qualified for the job, several are just subs hired for full time. Discipline is a joke, one student may be expelled and the other given a warning for the same offense, as far as I can tell it's based on who's mom knows the principal. It is hard to even walk down the halls with 300 new freshmen this year, the school was not built to hold as many students as are enrolled.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2005

Rockbridge County HS is a wonderful place to receive an enriching education. The school is clean and teachers are well organized. The passion and dedication of the teachers at RCHS has inspired me to become a teacher. They truly care. Most of the teachers that are teaching there today have been there for a really long time.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 2, 2005

'For a rural school,' RCHS competes with private schools for course offerings and teacher quality. Until critics have seen some of the 'poor' urban or rural schools, they have no room to criticize RCHS. How can this site--or a critic of it--be taken seriously when the claim the school is rat-infested is allowed to stand unchallenged? Please do your own research and do not listen to disgruntle people who may try to sway your opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Inept leadership, apathetic students, and inadequate resources are the terms that best describe Rockbridge County High School. Like many schools in rural areas, RCHS is woefully underfunded. One plus is the dedication of a majority of the faculty. Why they continue to tolerate year after year without pay raises is beyond me. I have experience with many public high schools and never have I seen a building run by such weak administrators. Policies lack consistency and discipline is a joke.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 14, 2005

The dirt in the school is the worst! It is nasty to have to eat at that lunch table knowing they have not been cleaned in days! The floors are full of dirt along with the railings... dust everywhere... I have heard a few times about rats being in the building! They should do something about this!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
97%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students54%
Female students62%
Male students48%
Black students90%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students51%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%

Algebra II

All Students76%
Female students73%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Biology

All Students76%
Female students79%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Chemistry

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Earth Science

All Students80%
Female students78%
Male students83%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students85%
Male students80%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students89%
Male students73%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Geometry

All Students81%
Female students80%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students78%
Female students76%
Male students79%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

World Geography

All Students85%
Female students81%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

World History I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History II

All Students92%
Female students91%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

143 Greenhouse Rd
Lexington, VA 24450
Phone: (540) 463-5555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bath County High School
Hot Springs, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT