Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South County High School

Public | 7-12 | 2924 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

This is the worst school ever a lot of people do not like this school. There system is stupid they are very strict when it come to "study hall" which they call "focus" over there. Like what kind of name is that? Focus is just an extra teaching period not even a study hall period! The teachers use it as an extra teaching not as a period where you can catch up oh homework or study for a class. This school is so stupid and has the most stupidest system ever. Fights happen a lot in this school, usually the fights always occur between two African American girls. These very dramatic girls fight for such stupid reasons. Just last yr when a fight occurred, half of the school began running to the locker pod and to watch the fight. While I was trying to get to class, the student who were running pushed and shoved me and my friend. Bullying is also a huge problem at this school. Some of the teachers are awfully rude and some of them like to get into your business. This school has been causing me server anxiety depression and I am not even allowed to transfer to another school even though I am very depressed.


Posted May 31, 2014

My school is horrible. This is the worst school I have ever been to. They are horrible kids and the teachers are bad. You only succeed if you teach yourself or if you are smart. The teachers have no idea how to teach and they favor the smartest students. They aren't motivated to teach the kids who aren't that intelligent. There is no way I would ever recommend this school to anyone besides the naturally smart kids. This is literally the worst school in America. They focus more on sports and activities than they do academics. I'd rather be in military school than here, it's like a prison.


Posted May 20, 2014

When the new middle school building opened in September 2012, South County Secondary divided into South County High School and South County Middle School to relieve crowding. My children do not yet attend the high school, but the middle school is off to a great start. I have had some small interactions with the high school, and my experience has been positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

South County is awesome!!! Great teachers, wonderful students and the parents are involved. Glad we moved to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

South County is certainly not terrible, but it's not great either. As a parent, I am often frustrated by the school's lack of communication, particularly about grades. For example, the quarter ended last week, and we missed almost an entire week due to the weather, so I emailed all my 10th grader's teachers about his progress in the quarter, since there were only three days left after all the cancellations. I heard back from three out of seven teachers, and so my student was able to turn in a couple of missing assignments in those classes. As for the other four classes, the second quarter is now officially over, and I have absolutely no idea how my child did in any of those classes, and I won't until I get the grade reports in the mail in a few days. It's a constant struggle to do the detective work it takes to keep up on the grades in each class. Some teachers are outstanding, and others, well, not so much. My son would probably give this school a 4/5 because he is involved in a school activity that he loves and that gives him a good group of other kids to hang out with. We are moving after he graduates and will not make an effort to stay within South County's boundary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

After having a few children in the school system at all different academic levels I can say the school system works great if you have a straight A student but not for an average student or a child that needs extra support. If your child needs extra assistance they are like burden on the teachers who only want to deal with the straight A students who do not need any extra help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2013

This school has done very well considering its only a few years old. It has already made a list as a top 20 high school in Virginia. The school principal is doing a good job in purging mediocre teachers and getting great teachers from top counties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

in all honesty, South County is a bad school. As an un-bias student. It has the lowest subject scores in FCPS and the highest rate of bullying in FCPS. Some teachers are great, maybe 1 a year. But all of the other teachers are so un-motivating and so unenthusiastic about everything. This is a school where your health and willingness to learn does not matter. All that matters are grades. This is a school where if you do not do well on one test, you will fail the quarter and there is no after school help or remediation. Some of the brightest kids I know resort to cheating. Because of budget cuts, late busses are cut down to one day a week. Rather than the usual 4. This clearly inhibits learning as most class averages are around a C-, and even worse in AP Classes. I consider myself an un-bais student who gets good grades, but South County is the last place I ever want to be. With the awful people, the unreasonably hard tests and the expectation to succeed when teachers don't even care. Its ludicrous. This school should be shut down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2013

I love SoCo. A lot of the teachers do care that you should exceed in life, and many are inspirational. There are a lot of sports here, and many students get scholarships. There is so much school spirit and love here. But we do have are count for bullies, but they won't bother you unless you bother them. I can't wait for my next 2 years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2013

I went to this high school. It is a most mediocre schools high school. The staff is average. The student are not bright. And the only thing that is rewarded is desperation. The anti-intellectual atmosphere of the school generated by the anti-intellectual families that surround its campus ensure that South County remain inept. Compared to schools like Lake Braddock or McLean HIgh, South County does not add up. Pert of this, again, is the anti-intellectual environment of the areas surrounding South County. That the majority of Lorton parents do not work in academia or jobs where a Masters degree is required, most students are raised as if Virginia colleges were the best in the world. In reality, even UVA is still a large public college and is ranked the no.1 party school in the country.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2012

I have had 4 graduates in 6 years at SCSS and have been VERY pleased with the teachers, community and academic options for my sons. The teachers care so much and one of my 2 were in the gifted side and 1 in special needs... they advocated for them on both sides of the academic spectrum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

SCSS is an awful school full of bullys. I feel sorry for my teachers. My classes were full of hateful students who could not keep their bullying in the hallways and would bring disputes loudly into the classroom. Obviously, administration is unresponsive to teacher's "referrals" of student's outrageous behaviors and it appears little is done to support teachers who are having trouble with what seems to be 'gangs' of unruly students who take over classrooms and make it impossible to teach. Those who want to learn, can't. Principals play favorites. I know for a fact that certain principals coddle and pacify students who they should be expelling for insubordination with cokes and free passes to leave the teacher's class if they became upset with him for in class reprimands or discipline. How do I know? These "bad' students laugh and joke about it. They even throw it back at the teacher when they return to class in front of everyone. Several of my favorite teachers resigned last year because of this schoolwide meanness. I feel sorry for the students and the teachers who are subjected to this outrageous and cruel school environment on a daily basis.


Posted October 18, 2011

I hate this school! The teachers are rude and always watch you as if you are about to go crazy and if they see u trade papers with a friend to help them they act as if you are cheating which really you are showing them how to do something not saying 2 X 2 = 4. The gym teachers are only the sane ones there and only a few are good. If you ever want to survive in this school or even have a Chance oh wait you will not!If you know whats right THAN DON'T GO TO THIS SCHOOL!


Posted April 28, 2011

The fact is Fairfax county schools are some of the best in the nation. South County is one of the best schools in Fairfax County ranking in the top half of the county in test scores with those scores trending up. In all my years of attending I have seen no issue with the school covering up anything that makes them look bad and I have seen very little teachers being disrespectful. The only problem I have with the school is the students. Just to put it out there for parents complaining maybe its not the teachers who are the problem maybe it's your student. Students are given every opportunity to succeed and some don't take it. The majority of complaints I hear come from students who are the problem. I will guarantee you that I have spent more time with the teachers of this school than any parent and I find it disgusting that they are being attacked in many reviews.


Posted March 15, 2011

i go to this school now ,hate it i want to move so bad and this is only my second year there .


Posted December 10, 2010

South County was ill planned from the start. Its purpose was to relieve Hayfield from overcrowding, but the boundaries were messed up from the start, taking neighborhoods not assigned to Hayfield even though the purpose was to fix Hayfield's problem. The school ended up opening overcrowded. They had to split up the boundaries twice to fix this issue. The boundary is fragmented to the point where you are live in a South County area but your neighbor does not. Teacher quality is extremely poor. They don't care or they play the favorites game. There are a handful of teachers that actually try to help, but the rest act as if it was a dead end job. Security is very unjust and biased. Some people get a slap on the wrist while others get an iron fist. The administrators are the same way. The administrators also don't know much about what's going on with the students and turn a blind eye when beneficial. There's too much harassment and disrespect within the student body. Too many rumors go around and too many people instigate for no reason. Overall, this is the FCPS school to avoid, I would know because I was there from 2005 to 2009. I visited this year, and things have not changed.


Posted October 5, 2010

I really like South County. My oldest went there her Junior and Senior year and my younger daughter is in eight grade. I appreciate the time and consideration that the teachers give to the students. She loves it there! The honars classes are great! Yes it is crowded, but the positive learning environment makes up for it, We are a military family, and I am hoping that my daughter can continue there for years to come. Way to go Stallions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

My daugter went this school for one year. Over croweded is a big problem because it generates poor staffing, poor support, and unprofessional skills of handling student's matter. Administration statts are terrible. I asked them to fax documents 3 times in advance, still had trouble. Teachers are all overloaded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

This fairly new school is filled with mediocre teachers who are focused on getting through SOL material and not focused on anything that falls under any other category. For example, teachers make comments while teaching, asking the children if they understand and then follows up with a comment that they don't have time for them to understand! The math department is week and the reputation in the community is that the school is disorganized and without a parent being on top of every move, a child will be lost to the system. This is disheartening in a county that has gotten glowing results nationally. It makes you wonder where those results came from and how they were derived. South County is a poor example of diversity and sets no examples for levels of excellence. It is very sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

South County is a great school. The teachers really care about the students and offer help during lunch or after school. The school has a great band program. The athletic program has been successful since the school opened. Yes the school's overcrowded but when the middle school opens it will take care of that problem. The teachers are also very good but some shouldn't be allowed to teach here at such a great school with great kids.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

English: Writing

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

553 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

545 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

541 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

514 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

541 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black students75%
Asian students92%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial94%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English85%

Geometry

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black students68%
Asian students82%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial95%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students86%
Black students79%
Asian students89%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial85%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English87%

Biology

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students91%
Black students74%
Asian students92%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial97%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English93%

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students82%
Black students71%
Asian students91%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial83%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English87%

Earth Science

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black students92%
Asian students93%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English96%

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students92%
Black students84%
Asian students98%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students94%
Female students96%
Male students91%
Black students86%
Asian students97%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English95%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students93%
Female students92%
Male students95%
Black students88%
Asian students94%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial95%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English95%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students96%
Female students94%
Male students97%
Black students87%
Asian students98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial97%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English96%

World History II

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students92%
Black students83%
Asian students96%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial96%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jane Lipp
Fax number
  • (703) 446-4697

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8501 Silverbrook Road
Lorton, VA 22079
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 446-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Woodbridge High School
Woodbridge, VA



Accotink Academy
Springfield, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT