Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gunston Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
This is a great, small, family oriented school in the Lorton community. The principal, teachers, and students are one of a kind. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure each student gets what he/she needs. I've enjoyed my experience there as a volunteer and having both of my children attend.

Gunston Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
I had such great experience with Gunston. The quality of the teachers is exeptional. The overall environment is friendly and positive. Academically, they have improved tremendously in the last three years. My kindergartner is challenged and can read well obove his grade level. My kids performance is well communicated and issues are always addresses in timely manner. The school is small in size, which is a good thing because teachers and staff ernd to know every sutdent by name and give them special attention.


Gunston Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I continue, as noted in June 2011 in my rating, to maintain that Gunston Elementary provides an excellent environment for our two children (now grade 3 and 6) in 2012. I am grateful for the great folks to include an excellent and caring teacher to now our 3rd Grader (Mrs. Benton) and excellent and caring counselor (Ms. Ephraim). Our 6th grader is participating in the AAP program at Lorton Station where he is enjoying his teacher (Mrs. Hanscom) but still misses his 'home school' - Gunston. This is a true testimony to the great environment/'at home feel' that Gunston provides. It takes a village, as they say. We thank you for your continued dedication, Gunston dedicated teachers/counselors!!

Gunston Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
In general: Pretty good school. My son learn to love math here. The school has ZERO tolerance for bullies and provides a healthy learning enviroment. Downs: His teacher was pertty bad getting back to me though, never answered my emails or calls; however, the lack of communication did not affected my son performance or grades.

Gunston Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
great school , good teachers and helpful administration, warm environement I recommend this school for people who are living in lorton


Gunston Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
My sun have autism ...Until this moment I am satisfied ...thanx to the teacher Ms Gali

Gunston Elementary School 3

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
My children have attended Gunston for the past 3 years I would have to say that the whole experience has beed less that ideal. The teaching staff is adequit, but I feel that they are so preoccupied by standards of learning and other requirements of the school district that they simply can't focus on the students. I have also seen an alarming bullying problem that the administration either can't or won't address. I don't think that my children will be lacking in the basics, but I also can't say this school goes above and beyond expectations. As a military mom, I won't miss this school when we move.

Gunston Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
Great school! My Kindergartner can read. He has gone on field trips. He comes home excited about assemblies that the school has had. Lots of art and music activities to stimulate his creativity. Very involved and caring staff and faculty.


Gunston Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
Love it! The teachers are caring and the classrooms are organized. The bus/car rider system is organized. The office is organized. Everything runs seemlessly! My children are learning leaps and bounds ahead of their friends at Fort Bragg, NC. They are learning now what they should have two years ago. I am constantly impressed with the music, dance, plays, science activities, and after school programs they offer. They involve the parents with take home notes, calendars, and Gunston newspapers. The prinipal is very involved and takes time to attend all the events we've seen. She is strict but kind. Excellent combination! We are military and move frequently and this is by far the best school we've ever been fortunate enough to attend.

Nearby schools

Gunston Elementary School
10100 Gunston Rd, Lorton, VA  22079
(703) 541-3600
Last modified Gunston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top