Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
Teachers and administration provide a positive learning environment. Kids leave prepared for middle school. My son had a very positive experience at this school.

Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
I am very pleased with this school. We are going into our 2nd year (Kindergarten + First) and my loves school. The teachers are very qualified and have done a wonderful job teaching and making learning fun. The school is very diverse with many nationalities. As a military brat that traveled the world, it is wonderful to see my child's classroom filled with people from so many different cultures. PTA has a nice selection of after school programs. The administrative staff does a very good job keeping parents informed. This is a great school in a great neighborhood.


Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is new to Laurel Hill this 2013-14 academic season. This is a very diverse school. The school has a anti-bully policy. Because of it, a very shy little girl has started to shine. She now looks forward to going to school everyday and have lots of friends. As parents, it was worth the expense to move here from another part of Fairfax County and to my daughter so happy. And that said a lot about the principals, teachers and staffs at Laurel Hill E.S.

Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
My kids have been at Laurel Hill ES since 2010 and I can only say good things about the school's leadership, academic rigor, teachers, and even the SACC program. My kids have been appropriately challenged, are excited about learning, and have had really dedicated, caring, and excellent teachers. My kids love just going to school and are proud Laurel Hill Lions. The PTA is strong, too. Nice newer building.

Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Great school. The teachers and administrators are very professional. The learning environment is safe. They have the latest technology. Terrific school with high academic rigor.


Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
Our two boys have been going to Laurel Hill since it opened. The teachers, Principal and staff have always been very caring and professional. We are especially happy with the staff at the after-school care (SACC). They don't just watch the kids until they are picked up, but they involve them in sports, fine arts, occasional field trips, sports and dance competitions with other school SACC programs, etc. My sons miss their SACC activities when school is closed. Thank you miss Bridgette and staff.

Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has awesome teacher. Her teacher make fun to learn. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
Laurel Hill is an outstanding elementary school. The Principal and Vice Principal are very involved with the students and parents. The teachers are skilled and energetic. We've had a very positive experience.


Laurel Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
We opened up Laurel Hill when it was a brand new school and have been at the school for 2 years. The principal runs a tight ship, and maintains a good balance of discipline and fun. The vice principal is very popular with the parents and kids, and is very involved in the community. The teachers are outstanding and responsive. It's a real community over there and I couldn't be happier with it. We took our kids out of private school when the school opened and it was a great decision.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Hill Elementary School
8701 Laurel Crest Dr, Lorton, VA  22079
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (703) 551-5300
Last modified Laurel Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top